You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 17 February 2018

We carried out this inspection on 14 December 2017. Our inspection was unannounced.

Eccleshare Court is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. The Care Quality Commission (CQC) regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The home is registered to provide accommodation and nursing care for up to 46 people, including older people and people living with dementia. There were 37 people living in the home at the time of our inspection.

The service was run by a company who was the registered provider. The home had a registered manager in post. The registered manager was not available at the time of this inspection but the registered persons area manager was present and they provided the information we required. A registered manager is a person who has registered with CQC to manage the service. Like registered providers (‘the provider’) they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. In this report when we speak both about the company the area manager and the registered manager we refer to them as being, ‘The registered persons’.

At our last inspection on 4 October 2016 we found that there was a breach of the regulations that had reduced the registered persons' ability to consistently provide people with care that was being well-led. We also said that other improvements needed to be made to ensure that the service was safe, caring and responsive. We rated each of these parts of the service as ‘requires improvement’. Overall, our assessment of the service was ‘requires improvement’.

Shortly after our inspection visit the registered persons told us that they had made the improvements that were necessary to address each of our concerns. The registered persons also provided us with subsequent monthly updates about how they were addressing and making further improvements to the concerns we had raised at our last inspection. In addition they said they had reviewed the arrangements in place for the way the home environment was set out and that they had changed the name of the home from Eccleshare Court 1-39 to Eccleshare Court. They said these changes were made to help more clearly distinguish the home from another home the registered persons owned which was located next to Eccleshare Court.

At the present inspection we found that suitable arrangements had been introduced to ensure that the service was well managed. The breach of the regulations for well-led had been addressed and resolved and as a result people were receiving safe, caring and responsive care which was well-led. Given the progress made we revised our assessment of each of these aspects of the service to ‘good’ and also changed the overall assessment of the service to ‘good’.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 17 February 2018

The service was safe.

There were sufficient staff to meet people�s care and support needs.

Staff were recruited safely.

People�s risk assessments were reviewed and updated to take account of changes in their needs.

Effective infection prevention and control systems were in place.

People�s medicines were managed safely.

There was evidence of organisational learning from significant incidents.

Effective

Good

Updated 17 February 2018

The service was effective.

Care was delivered in line with current best practice guidance.

Staff understood how to support people who lacked the capacity to make decisions for themselves.

People had access to the food and drinks of their choice and when it was needed they were supported to access their meals in ways which met their needs and preferences.

People received coordinated care when the service worked across organisations and when people used different services and people had received support to meet their on-going healthcare needs.

The environment was appropriate to the needs of people and people�s rooms were set out and decorated in the way people preferred.

Caring

Good

Updated 17 February 2018

The service was caring.

Staff were caring, kind and compassionate.

Staff respected people�s right to privacy and promoted their dignity.

Staff encouraged people to maintain their independence and to exercise choice and control over their lives.

Responsive

Good

Updated 17 February 2018

The service was responsive.

People�s individual care plans were kept under regular review by staff.

People were supported to continue to enjoy, maintain and develop their independence through the pursuit of a range of individual and group activities, hobbies and interests.

Arrangements were in place to ensure the registered persons provided compassionate care for people at the end of their life.

People's concerns and complaints were listened and responded to in order to improve the quality of care.

Well-led

Good

Updated 17 February 2018

The service was well-led

There was an open culture at the home and people benefited from staff understanding their responsibilities.

People who lived at the home, their relatives and staff were engaged with and involved in making improvements.

There were suitable arrangements to enable the home to keep improving and maintaining their sustainability.

Quality checks had been completed and the home worked in partnership with other agencies to promote the delivery of joined up care.