You are here

Archived: 606 Dental Practice

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 10 June 2019

We undertook a desk-based follow up of 606 Dental Practice on 15 May 2019. This inspection was carried out to review in detail the actions taken by the registered provider to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the practice was now meeting legal requirements.

The review was led by a CQC inspector who had access to remote advice from a specialist advisor.

We undertook a comprehensive inspection of 606 Dental Practice on 29 May 2018 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We found the registered provider was not providing well led care and was in breach of regulation 17 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. We also completed a focussed follow up inspection of 606 dental practice on 12 December 2018. Although the provider had made some improvements, we found the provider was still not providing well led care and was in breach of regulation 17. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for 606 Dental Practice on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

We have not re-visited 606 Dental Practice for this review because the registered provider was able to demonstrate that they were meeting the standards without the need for a visit.

As part of this inspection we asked:

• Is it well-led?

When one or more of the five questions are not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan (requirement notice only). We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the area(s) where improvement was required.

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements in relation to the regulatory breach we found at our inspection on 12 December 2018.

Background

606 Dental Practice is in Solihull, West Midlands and provides both NHS and private treatment for adults and children.

There is level access for people who use wheelchairs and those with pushchairs. Car parking spaces, including those for blue badge holders, are available near the practice.

The dental team includes six dentists, six dental nurses (including one head nurse), two dental hygienists, one dental hygiene therapist, a part time practice manager and five receptionists. The practice has six treatment rooms.

The practice is owned by an individual who is the principal dentist there. They have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the practice is run.

During the inspection we checked that the registered provider’s action plan had been implemented. We reviewed a range of documents provided by the registered provider.

The practice is open Monday to Friday from 9am to 5.30pm.

Our key findings were:

  • The provider’s sharps risk assessment had been amended and included details of all sharp instruments in use at the practice

  • The provider had confirmed that the Electricity Board had taken action to address issues identified in the five-year fixed wiring test.

  • Risk assessments had been updated and now contained correct information including the health and safety risk assessment, lone workers risk assessment and the violence at work risk assessment.

  • Infection prevention and control audits were completed on a six-monthly basis using an up to date audit tool. The infection prevention and control procedure had been updated.

  • The practice’s systems for logging prescriptions had been amended and processes had been put in place to provide assurance of prescription security. The practice completed a prescribing audit to review individual prescribing patterns for each of the dentists who used the same prescription pad.

  • The provider had developed and implemented a structured induction process.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 10 June 2019

Effective

No action required

Updated 10 June 2019

Caring

No action required

Updated 10 June 2019

Responsive

No action required

Updated 10 June 2019

Well-led

No action required

Updated 10 June 2019

We found that this practice was providing well-led care and was complying with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements to the management of the service. This included updating risk assessments, completing works to address issues identified in the five year fixed wiring check, safer systems for logging prescriptions and completion of audits on a regular basis such as prescribing audits and infection prevention and control audits. The improvements provided a sound footing for the ongoing development of effective governance arrangements at the practice.