You are here

The Glades at Moorville Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 26 August 2017

The Glades at Moorville provides accommodation and support for up to four people with learning disabilities and autistic spectrum disorders. It is located on a quiet residential road in Tapton, Sheffield. On the day of the inspection three people were receiving care services from the provider.

The inspection took place on 11 July 2017 and was announced. The provider was given short notice of the inspection because the service is small and the registered manager is often out of the office supporting staff or providing care. We needed to be sure that they would be in.

This is the first inspection since the provider registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) in November 2015.

There was a registered manager on the day of our inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with CQC to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons.’ Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Some aspects of medicines administration were not safe. For example we found where people had PRN medicines (PRN medicines are given as and when required) prescribed. We saw that some protocols needed more detail. The protocol is to guide staff on how to administer those medicines safely and consistently. The registered manager took immediate action to address this following the inspection and reviewed all the PRN protocols that were in place in line with NICE guidelines for the safe management of medicines.

Accidents and incidents were recorded and reported by staff. However, there was no analysis of themes or trends in order to eliminate future risks or inform future service developments. Whilst there was no evidence to suggest that this had negatively impacted upon people the lack of analysis of themes or trends means that people may not be protected against the risk of receiving inappropriate care and treatment. The registered manager took immediate action to address this concern following the inspection

There was an extremely strong person centred and caring culture in the home. (Person centred means that care is tailored to meet the needs and aspirations of each person, as an individual.) The management team and staff shared the vision of the service.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. The registered provider’s policies and systems supported this practice.

We recommend the registered manager looks at best practice for auditing systems to ensure any shortfalls in documentation and processes are recognised.

The provider had a safe recruitment procedure in place that involved pre-employment checks being made prior to new staff commencing employment.

The staff we spoke with were very knowledgeable on safeguarding and whistle blowing policies and procedures.

We looked at care records and found they contained a person centred care plan which gave staff an understanding of people’s life stories, choices and preferences and what was important to the person.

We observed staff working with people and found they were kind and caring in their nature. Staff we spoke with were knowledgeable about respecting privacy and dignity and gave examples of how they would do this.

We checked people's care records. The information gave staff details of how to support and care for people to ensure their care needs were being met.

The home had a complaints procedure and people we spoke with knew how to raise concerns if they needed to.

We looked at people's records and found they identified risks associated with people's care and treatment.

People were supported to have sufficient food and drink to maintain a balanced diet. Snacks were available in between meals.

We found there were enough staff with the right skills, knowledge and experience to meet people's needs.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 26 August 2017

The service was safe.

People were safeguarded from abuse, or the risk of abuse, and their human rights were respected and upheld.

There were enough skilled and experienced staff to meet people�s care needs. There were robust recruitment and quality assurance procedures in place to ensure people's safety.

People's medication was safely managed, and there were effective arrangements in place for ordering, storing and recording medicines. However, we found the information available for 'as and when required' medicines (PRN) needed to be improved.

Effective

Good

Updated 26 August 2017

The service was effective.

People were cared for by staff who were well trained and supported to give care that was tailored to people�s individual needs.

Staff told us they received supervisions and appraisals.

There was evidence of best interests being considered where a person lacked capacity to consent. However, improvements were required to ensure decisions could be made following the appropriate legal processes.

Caring

Good

Updated 26 August 2017

The service was caring.

People told us the service was caring.

We found that staff spoke to people with warmth and respect and staff were passionate about their job.

Staff maintained people's privacy and dignity.

Responsive

Good

Updated 26 August 2017

The service was responsive.

People received care that was personalised and responsive to their needs.

Care plans were detailed and person-centred.

There was a complaints system in place and people and their families knew how to complain if they needed to

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 26 August 2017

The service was not always well led.

People who used the service and staff told us that the registered manager was accessible and approachable.

People were supported to shape their own lives, make real choices, and they were at the centre of the decision making process.

The systems in place to monitor the quality and safety of the service required further improvements, and embedding into practice, to ensure they were fully effective.