You are here

Archived: Rosemary Lodge Rest Home Good

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 25 December 2018

This unannounced comprehensive inspection took place on the 20 November 2018. The inspection team consisted of one inspector, one assistant inspector and an expert by experience. An expert by experience is a person who has personal experience of using or caring for someone who uses this type of service.

Rosemary Lodge Rest Home is a 'care home'. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Rosemary Lodge Rest Home can accommodate up to 29 people. At the time of our inspection 21 people were using the service. Some people living at the home were living with Dementia.

At our last inspection in March 2017 we identified improvements were needed to improve the quality and safety of the service provided. We judged the provider to be in a continued breach of Regulation 17 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 Good governance. Following the inspection, we asked the provider to complete an action plan to show us what they would do and when by to improve the key question(s) of safe, responsive and well-led to at least "good." The provider sent us their action plan in and we looked at their action plan as part of this inspection.

This inspection took place on 20 November 2018 to follow up on our previous findings. We returned on this occasion to check that the provider was taking the necessary action to improve the quality of care and reducing the risks to people. During this inspection the service demonstrated to us that improvements have been made and the service was no longer in breach of regulations. Systems for the governance of the service were more robust and the action plan we received from the provider following our previous inspection had been addressed.

There was a registered manager in post at the time of this inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Despite the noted improvement in the management of the home we were made aware of some issues that needed to be addressed or considered further from talking to people and sampling records. People and staff were positive about the leadership skills of the registered manager. Audits and quality checks were undertaken on a regular basis and any issues or concerns addressed with appropriate actions. The registered manager led by example and encouraged an open and honest culture within their staff team. People were supported to express their views. The registered manager and their staff team worked together with other organisations to ensure people's wellbeing.

People received care that made them feel safe. People were cared for by staff who were trained in recognising and understanding how to report potential abuse. Potential risks to people had been assessed and were being managed by staff. Recruitment checks had been carried out to ensure staff were suitable to work in a care setting with vulnerable people. At the time of our inspection there were sufficient staff to respond promptly to people's needs. People received medicines safely and as prescribed. The environment was clean and systems were in place to audit infection control practices.

All feedback that we received from people about the staff was that they had the knowledge and skills to deliver effective care and that relevant training was provided. People told us they saw their GP and health specialists whenever necessary. People told us they were satisfied with the food provided and we saw suitably prepared meals being served. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 25 December 2018

The service was safe.

People told us they felt safe and we saw risks to people were assessed, and these were understood and managed by staff.

Staff understood how to deal with allegations of abuse. The provider carried out appropriate checks on staff to ensure they were safe to work with people.

People had support from sufficient staff to respond to their needs and keep them safe.

People's medicines were managed safely.

Effective

Good

Updated 25 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 25 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 25 December 2018

The service was responsive.

People received care and treatment that was responsive to their individual needs.

People had been involved in the development of their care plans and further improvement was planned.

People's engagement with meaningful social occupation had improved and further improvement was planned.

People felt confident to raise complaints.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 25 December 2018

The service was not consistently well-led.

The provider had improved systems in place for governance of the service, although we did identify further issues that needed addressing.

People and staff expressed confidence in the registered manager and how the service was managed.

The provider had notified the Care Quality Commission of significant events which occurred in the home.

People's views about the quality of care they received had been sought.