You are here

2 Green Smile LTD, trading as 2 Green Dental

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 16 October 2018

We carried out this announced inspection on 25 September 2018 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We planned the inspection to check whether the registered provider was meeting the legal requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations.

The inspection was led by a Care Quality Commission (CQC) inspector who was supported by a specialist dental adviser.

To get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment, we always ask the following five questions:

• Is it safe?

• Is it effective?

• Is it caring?

• Is it responsive to people’s needs?

• Is it well-led?

These questions form the framework for the areas we look at during the inspection.

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services effective?

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services caring?

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services responsive?

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services well-led?

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Background

2 Green Smile LTD, trading as 2 Green Dental is based in the London Borough of Bexley and provides NHS and private treatment to patients of all ages.

There is level access on the ground floor for people who use wheelchairs and those with pushchairs.

The clinical team includes two principal dentists, three associate dentists, three dental hygienists, five qualified dental nurses and two trainee dental nurses. The clinical team is supported by four receptionists and three administrators (both of whom occasionally also undertook receptionist and dental nursing duties).

The practice has six treatment rooms. There is a dedicated decontamination facility.

The practice is owned by an organisation, and as a condition of registration must have a person registered with the Care Quality Commission as the registered manager. Registered managers have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the practice is run. The registered manager at 2 Green Smile LTD, trading as 2 Green Dental was one of the principal dentists.

On the day of inspection, we obtained feedback from 11 patients.

During the inspection we spoke with the principal dentist, a dental nurse, and two administrators. We checked practice policies and procedures and other records about how the service is managed.

The practice is open at the following times:

  • Monday, Thursday, Friday 09.30-13.00, 14.00-17.00
  • Tuesday, Wednesday 08.30-13.00, 14.00-18.00
  • Saturday 09.00-13.00

Our key findings were:

  • The practice appeared clean and well maintained.
  • The practice had infection control procedures which reflected published guidance.
  • Staff knew how to deal with emergencies. Appropriate medicines and life-saving equipment were available.
  • The practice had systems to help them manage risk.
  • The practice had suitable safeguarding processes and staff knew their responsibilities for safeguarding adults and children.
  • The practice had thorough staff recruitment procedures.
  • The clinical staff provided patients’ care and treatment in line with current guidelines.
  • Staff treated patients with dignity and respect and took care to protect their privacy and personal information.
  • The practice was providing preventive care and supporting patients to ensure better oral health.
  • The appointment system met patients’ needs.
  • The practice had effective leadership and a culture of continuous improvement.
  • Staff felt involved and supported and worked well as a team.
  • The practice asked staff and patients for feedback about the services they provided.
  • Feedback we received from patients about the service was positive.
  • The practice dealt with complaints positively and efficiently.
  • The practice had suitable information governance arrangements.

There are areas where the practice could make improvements. They should:

  • Review arrangements for tracking and monitoring the use of prescription pads, antibiotics and analgesics.
  • Review the practice’s protocols for ensuring that all clinical staff have adequate immunity for vaccine preventable infectious diseases.
  • Review staff training to ensure that all staff undertake outstanding relevant training in dental radiography.
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 16 October 2018

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had systems and processes to provide safe care and treatment.

The practice had systems and processes to provide safe care and treatment. They used learning from incidents and complaints to help them improve.

Staff received training in safeguarding and knew how to recognise the signs of abuse and how to report concerns.

Staff were qualified for their roles and the practice completed essential recruitment checks.

The premises and equipment appeared clean and properly maintained. The practice followed national guidance for cleaning, sterilising and storing dental instruments.

The practice had suitable arrangements for dealing with medical and other emergencies.

They could strengthen arrangements for tracking and monitoring the use of prescription pads, antibiotics and analgesics kept on-site. They could also make improvements for ensuring that all clinical staff have adequate immunity for vaccine preventable infectious diseases.

Effective

No action required

Updated 16 October 2018

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The dentists assessed patients’ needs and provided care and treatment in line with recognised guidance. Patients described the treatment they received as excellent, professional and kind.

The dentists discussed treatment with patients so they could give informed consent and recorded this in their records.

The practice had arrangements when patients needed to be referred to other dental or health care professionals.

The practice supported staff to complete training relevant to their roles. They could strengthen arrangements by ensuring all staff undertake relevant training in dental radiography.

Caring

No action required

Updated 16 October 2018

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

We received feedback about the practice from 11 people. Patients were positive about all aspects of the service the practice provided. They told us staff were friendly, caring, and polite. They also commented that staff treated them with dignity and respect.

They said that they were given helpful, detailed and clear explanations about dental treatment and said all staff listened to them.

We saw that staff protected patients’ privacy and were aware of the importance of confidentiality.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 16 October 2018

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice’s appointment system was efficient and met patients’ needs. Patients could get an appointment quickly if they were experiencing dental pain.

Staff considered patients’ different needs. This included providing facilities for wheelchair users.

The practice took patients’ views seriously. They valued compliments from patients and responded to concerns and complaints quickly and constructively.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 16 October 2018

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had arrangements to ensure the smooth running of the service. These included systems for the practice team to discuss the quality and safety of the care and treatment provided.

There was a clearly defined management structure and staff felt supported and appreciated.

The practice team kept complete patient dental care records which were clearly typed and stored securely.

The practice monitored clinical and non-clinical areas of their work to help them improve and learn. This included asking for and listening to the views of patients and staff.