You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 23 May 2018

This service is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to people living in their own flats in a sheltered housing complex. It provides a service to adults. At the time of this announced inspection of 13 April 2018 there were 29 people who used the service. We gave the service 24 hours’ notice of our inspection to make sure that someone was available.

At our last inspection of 28 October 2015, the service was rated Good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of Good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

The service provided a safe service to people. This included systems designed to minimise the risks to people, including from abuse. The service ensured there were sufficient care workers to cover people’s planned care visits. Recruitment of care workers was done safely. People received their medicines as prescribed and were supported as required. There were infection control procedures in place to guide care workers in how to minimise the risks of cross infection.

People’s needs were met by care workers who were trained and supported. The service understood the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2015 and people were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and care workers cared for them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice. Where people required support with their dietary needs, systems were in place to support them. People were supported to have access to health professionals where needed. The service worked with other organisations involved in people’s care to provide a consistent service.

People had positive relationships with the care workers. People’s dignity, privacy and independence were respected and promoted. People’s views were listened to and valued.

People received care and support which was assessed, planned and delivered to meet their individual needs. There were systems in place to support and care for people at the end of their lives, where required. A complaints procedure was in place and complaints were acted upon and used to improve the service.

The service had an open and empowering culture. The service used comments from people and incidents in the service to learn from and to drive improvement. The service had a quality assurance system and shortfalls were identified and addressed. As a result the quality of the service continued to improve.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 23 May 2018

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 23 May 2018

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 23 May 2018

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 23 May 2018

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 23 May 2018

The service remains good.