You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 19 September 2018

Pitches View is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to people living in their own flats in a sheltered housing complex. It provides a service to adults. At the time of this announced inspection of 1 August 2018 there were 31 people who used the personal care service. We gave the service 48 hours’ notice of our inspection to make sure that someone was available.

At our last inspection of 21 January 2016, the service was rated Good overall. We found the evidence continued to support the rating of Good overall and improvements had been made in the key question for Safe. There was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

The service continued to provide people with safe care. There were systems in place which were intended to minimise the risks to people, including from abuse and in their daily lives. There were enough care workers to cover people’s planned care visits. Recruitment of care workers was done safely. Where people required support with their medicines, these were administered as prescribed. There were infection control systems in place to reduce the risks of cross infection.

People continued to receive an effective service. People were supported by care workers who were trained to meet their needs. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and care workers cared for them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice. Where people required support with their dietary needs, systems were in place to deliver this. People were supported to have access to health professionals where needed. The service worked with other organisations involved in people’s care to provide a consistent service.

People continued to receive a caring service. People had positive relationships with the care workers, team leaders and manager. People’s dignity, privacy and independence were respected and promoted. People’s views were listened to and valued.

People continued to receive a responsive service. People received care and support which was assessed, planned and delivered to meet their individual needs. There were systems in place to support and care for people at the end of their lives, where required. A complaints procedure was in place and complaints were acted upon and used to improve the service.

People continued to receive a well-led service. There was a new manager in post and they were building links with the local community to improve people’s lives. The service used comments from people and incidents in the service to learn from and to drive improvement. The service had a quality assurance system and shortfalls were identified and addressed. As a result, the quality of the service continued to improve.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 19 September 2018

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 19 September 2018

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 19 September 2018

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 19 September 2018

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 19 September 2018

The service remains good.