You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 17 November 2017

We carried out a follow-up inspection at Dental Design studio on 26 October 2017.

We had undertaken an announced comprehensive inspection of this service on the 14 November 2016 as part of our regulatory functions where a breach of legal requirements was found.

After the comprehensive inspection, the practice wrote to us to say what they would do to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breach. This report only covers our findings in relation to those requirements. We checked whether they had followed their action plan to confirm that they now met the legal requirements.

We reviewed the practice against one of the five questions we ask about services: are the services well led? You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for Dental Design Studios on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

We revisited Dental Design Studios as part of this review and checked whether they now met the legal requirements. We carried out this announced inspection on 26 October 2017 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We planned the inspection to check whether the registered provider was meeting the legal requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector.

  • Is it safe?
  • Is it well-led?

This question forms the framework for the areas we look at during the inspection.

Our findings were:

Are the services safe?

We found that this practice was providing safe in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services well-led?

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Background

Dental Design Studio is in the village of Edgeworth near Bolton and offers private general dental treatments and a range of cosmetic treatments for adults and children, including porcelain veneers, teeth whitening, implants and invisible braces. The practice has facilities for people with limited mobility, including an adapted toilet and ground floor treatment room.

The practice is owned by an individual who is the principal dentist there. They have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the practice is run.

The practice is open:

Opening times: Mon: 9am-5.30pm; Tue: 9am-5.30pm; Wed: 9am-1.00pm; Thu: 9am-8pm; Fri: closed; Sat: 9am-12.30pm.

Our key findings were:

We identified regulations that the provided had acted upon :

  • A Legionella risk assessment is now in place and actions undertaken.
  • Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Authority alerts (MHRA) are now received and any required action completed.
  • Sharps handling procedures and protocols are now in line with the Health and Safety (Sharp Instruments in Healthcare) Regulations 2013.
  • Radiation Regulations (IRR) 1999 and Ionising Radiation (Medical Exposure) Regulations (IRMER) 2000 have been reviewed and now follow relevant guidance.
  • Risk assessments of all control of substances hazardous to health (COSHH) are now in place.
  • Recruitment policy and procedures are in place and necessary employment checks for all staff completed.
  • Audits of various aspects of the service, such as radiography and dental care records are now undertaken at regular intervals.
  • Policies and procedures have been reviewed and updated.
  • Risk assessments are in place to ensure equipment and the premises are clean and safe.

The practice had also acted upon other recommendations:

  • Safeguarding training is now in place for staff.
  • Emergency medicines and equipment were available in line with the guidance.
  • Clinical waste is now segregated and disposed of in accordance with relevant regulations.
  • A review of needs of people with a disability has now been completed.
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 17 November 2017

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

During this follow up inspection we found action had been taken to address the shortfalls from the previous inspection in November 2016:

Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Authority alerts (MHRA) are now received and any required action completed.

Recruitment policy and procedures were in place and necessary employment checks had been completed for staff.

Effective

No action required

Updated 2 February 2017

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The dentist referred to resources such as the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) guidelines and the Delivering Better Oral Health toolkit (DBOH) to ensure their treatment followed current recommendations.

Staff obtained consent, communicated appropriately with patients of varying age groups and made referrals to other services in an appropriate and recognised manner.

Caring

No action required

Updated 2 February 2017

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Patients were very positive about the staff, practice and treatment received. We reviewed the feedback from 33 patients, all of which was very positive with patients stating they felt listened to and received the best treatment at that practice.

We observed patients being treated with respect and dignity during our inspection and privacy and confidentiality were maintained for patients using the service. We also observed staff to be welcoming and caring towards patients.

We found documents about patients were not stored confidentially and securely at the reception area.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 2 February 2017

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with

the relevant regulations.

The practice had a dedicated slot each day for urgent dental care and every effort was made to see all emergency patients on the day they contacted the practice.

The practice had not had cause to use an interpretation service so had not identified an interpretation service to access if needed.

A Disability Discrimination Act audit had not been undertaken. Reasonable adjustments had been made to provide access to the service for patients who used mobility equipment.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 17 November 2017

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

During this follow up inspection we found action had been taken to address the shortfalls from the previous inspection in November 2016:

The provider had arranged for a Legionella review of the practice and actions recommended had been completed including the monitoring of water temperatures.

Sharps handling procedures and protocols were now in place and easily accessible to staff.

The provider had arranged for updated safety reviews of all radiation equipment and complied with the Radiation Regulations (IRR) 1999 and Ionising Radiation (Medical Exposure) Regulations (IRMER) 2000 guidance.

Risk assessments were now in place and COSHH risk assessments had been updated.

The provider had completed audits of various aspects of the service, such as radiography and dental care records.

Policies and procedures were dated and regularly reviewed.