You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 25 September 2018

We undertook a follow up focused inspection of Woodlane Dental Practice on 3 September 2018. This inspection was carried out to review in detail the actions taken by the registered provider to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the practice was now meeting legal requirements.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who was supported by a specialist dental adviser.

We undertook a comprehensive inspection of Woodlane Dental Practice on 23 November 2017 and a focused inspection on 24 May 2018 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We found the registered provider was not providing well led care in accordance with the relevant regulations of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our reports of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Woodlane dental practice on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

As part of this inspection we asked:

• Is it well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements in relation to the regulatory breaches we found at our inspections on 23 November 2017 and 24 May 2018.

Background

Woodlane Dental Practice is in Dagenham in the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham and provides NHS and private treatment to adults and children. The practice is located on the ground floor of a purpose adapted premises. The practice has one treatment room. The practice is conveniently located close to public transport links.

The dental team includes the principal dentist who owns the dental practice, one dentist, two trainee dental nurses and a receptionist. The practice has one treatment room.

The practice is owned by an individual who is the principal dentist there. They have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the practice is run.

During the inspection we spoke with the principal dentist, one trainee dental nurse and the receptionist. We looked at practice policies and procedures and other records about how the service is managed.

The practice is open between 9am and 5.30pm on Mondays to Fridays.

Our key findings were:

  • The practice had arrangements to report, investigate, respond and learn from accidents, incidents and significant events.

  • The practice had safeguarding processes and procedures. Staff had undertaken training and staff were clear about their responsibilities for safeguarding adults and children.

  • There were arrangements to protect patients and staff from accidental exposure to substances which may be hazardous to health such as cleaning and other materials.

  • Staff knew how to deal with emergencies and the proper use and storage of emergency medicines and equipment. There were arrangements to ensure that medicines and equipment were available for use and within their expiry date.

  • The practice had systems to help them assess and manage risk. These were in line with current guidance and legislation. Risks associated with the use of dental sharps, substances that may be hazardous to health, fire and infection control and Legionella were assessed and there were arrangements in place to minimise the risks to patients and staff.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 21 December 2017

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The dentists were qualified for their roles and the practice completed essential recruitment checks.

Premises were clean and properly maintained. The practice followed national guidance for cleaning and sterilising dental instruments.

Improvements were needed to ensure that staff completed training in safeguarding and knew how to report concerns.

The practice had some arrangements in place for dealing with medical and other emergencies. Improvements were needed to ensure that all staff were aware of their roles and responsibilities and how to use emergency equipment and medicines and that equipment was stored and maintained in line with the manufacturer’s instructions.

Improvements were needed to ensure that infection control audits were carried out in line with national guidance.

Improvements were needed to ensure that equipment was properly maintained in line with the manufacturer’s instructions.

Effective

No action required

Updated 21 December 2017

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with

the relevant regulations.

The dentists assessed patients’ needs and provided care and treatment in line with recognised guidance. Patients described the treatment they received as very good. The dentists discussed treatment with patients so they could clearly understand and give informed consent. Patients said that their treatment was explained Clearly.

The practice had clear arrangements when patients needed to be referred to other dental or health care professionals. There were arrangements to follow up on urgent and non-urgent referrals.

Improvements were needed so as to ensure staff undertook training relevant to their roles and responsibilities and that there were effective systems to help the practice monitor staff training.

Caring

No action required

Updated 21 December 2017

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with

the relevant regulations.

We received feedback about the practice from 13 patients who were positive about the service the practice provided. They told us staff were attentive, respectful and caring. They said that they were given detailed explanations about dental treatment.

Patients commented that all staff made them feel at ease and relaxed, especially when they were anxious about visiting the dentist.

We saw that staff protected patients’ privacy and were aware of the importance of confidentiality. Patients said staff treated them with dignity and respect.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 21 December 2017

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice’s appointment system was efficient and met patients’ needs. Patients could get an appointment quickly if in pain.

Staff considered patients’ different needs and had made reasonable adjustments to the premises to support patients.

The practice took patients views seriously. They valued compliments from patients and responded to concerns and complaints quickly and constructively.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 25 September 2018

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements to the management of the service.

Improvements had been made to the arrangements for the assessment and management of risks to patients and staff.

There were governance systems to ensure that equipment and medicines were available, accessible, regularly checked and fit for use. The arrangements for staff training and appraisal and for monitoring staff training had been reviewed and strengthened.

The practice had made improvements to monitor clinical areas of their working to help them improve and learn.

The improvements provided a sound footing for the ongoing development of effective governance arrangements at the practice.