You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 7 December 2017

We carried out a focused inspection of Castle Dental Practice on 14 November 2017.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who had access to telephone support from a dental clinical adviser.

We carried out this inspection focusing only on the well-led key question to check on information we had received relating to this aspect of care at this practice.

We carried out the inspection to follow up concerns we originally identified during a comprehensive inspection at this practice on 17 January 2017 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions.

At a comprehensive inspection we always ask the following five questions to get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment:

  • Is it safe?
  • Is it effective?
  • Is it caring?
  • Is it responsive to people’s needs?
  • Is it well-led?

When one or more of the five questions is not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the area(s) where improvement was required.

At the previous comprehensive inspection we found the registered provider was providing safe, effective, caring and responsive care in accordance with relevant regulations. We judged the practice was not providing well-led care in accordance with regulation 17 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Castle Dental Practice on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements to put right the shortfalls and deal with the regulatory breach we found at our inspection on 17 January 2017.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 7 December 2017

Effective

No action required

Updated 7 December 2017

Caring

No action required

Updated 7 December 2017

Responsive

No action required

Updated 7 December 2017

Well-led

No action required

Updated 7 December 2017

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had arrangements to ensure the smooth running of the service. These included systems for the practice team to discuss the quality and safety of the care and treatment provided. There was a clearly defined management structure and staff felt supported and appreciated.

The practice team kept complete patient dental care records which were, clearly written and stored securely.

The practice monitored clinical and non-clinical areas of their work to help them improve and learn. This included asking for and listening to the views of patients and staff.