You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 24 November 2018

This inspection took place on 6, 7, 13, 14 and 15 November 2018 and was announced. The registered provider was given 48 hours’ notice because the location provides a domiciliary care service and we needed to be sure that someone would be at the office to assist with the inspection.

The service was last inspected in June 2016. At our last inspection we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good. There was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

This service is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to people living in their own houses and flats in the community. It provides a service to older adults. Not everyone using SNE Care Services Ltd receives regulated activity. CQC only inspects the service being received by people provided with ‘personal care’; help with tasks related to personal hygiene and eating. Where they do we also consider any wider social care provided. At the time of our inspection 70 people were receiving personal care from the service.

There was a registered manager in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. The registered manager was also the owner and registered provider of the service. In this report they will be referred to as the registered manager.

Risks to people were assessed and plans put in place to address them. Plans were in place to support people in emergency situations. People were safeguarded from abuse. Medicines were managed safely. The provider had effective infection control policies and procedures in place. The registered manager monitored staffing levels to ensure there were enough staff employed to support people safely. The provider’s recruitment processes minimised the risk of unsuitable staff being employed.

An assessment of people’s health and social needs was carried out before they started using the service to ensure the correct support was available to them. Staff were supported with regular training, supervision and appraisal. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. The policies and systems in the service supported this practice. People were supported with managing food and nutrition and to access external professionals to monitor and promote their health.

People spoke very positively about the support they received from staff. Relatives also said staff provided kind and caring support. People and their relatives told us staff treated people with dignity and respect. The service had received written compliments about the quality of the care it provided. People were supported to access advocacy services where needed.

People received person-centred care. Policies and procedures were in place to investigate and respond to complaints. At the time of our inspection nobody using the service was receiving end of life care, but policies and procedures were in place to provide this where needed.

Staff spoke positively about the culture and values of the service, and the leadership provided by the registered manager. People and their relatives also spoke positively about the registered manager and the service. The registered manager had informed CQC of significant events in a timely way by submitting the required notifications. This meant we could check that appropriate action had been taken. The registered manager carried out quality assurance checks to monitor and improve standards at the servi

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 24 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 24 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 24 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 24 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 24 November 2018

The service remains Good.