You are here

Brunswick Park Medical Centre Good

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 24 February 2017

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out an announced focussed inspection at Brunswick Park Medical Centre on 14 December 2016. We found the practice to be good for providing safe services and it is rated as good overall.

We had previously conducted an announced comprehensive inspection of the practice on 4 February 2016. As a result of our findings, the practice was rated as good for being effective, caring, responsive and well led; and requires improvement for being safe, which resulted in a rating of good overall. We found that the provider had breached Regulation 12(1) (2) (a) (b) (g) (safe care and treatment) of the Health and Social Care Act 2008.

The practice wrote to us to tell us what they would do to make improvements and meet the legal requirements. We undertook this focussed inspection to check that the practice had followed their plan, and to confirm that they had met the legal requirements.

This report only covers our findings in relation to those areas where requirements had not been met. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Brunswick Park Medical Centre on our website at http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/ 1-2120710416.

Our key findings across all the areas we inspected were as follows:

  • The arrangements for managing vaccines in the practice kept patients safe.

  • Appropriately signed patient group directions (PGDs) had been adopted by the practice to allow nurses to administer medicines in line with legislation. PGDs are written instructions for the supply or administration of medicines to groups of patients who may not be individually identified before presentation for treatment.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 24 February 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing safe services.

  • Risks to patients were assessed and well managed. When we inspected in February 2016, we identified concerns with the arrangements for managing vaccines. For example, the practice was only recording actual fridge temperatures for one of its two vaccines fridges which meant that we could not be assured that vaccines were stored within the temperature range necessary to ensure their effectiveness. When we inspected in December 2016, we were able to confirm actions taken to ensure the safe storage of vaccines. We were also able to confirm that fridge temperatures were appropriately recorded and within range.

When we inspected in February 2016, we found that signed PGDs were on file for one of the two nurses working at the practice at the time. Shortly after our inspection, we were advised that signed PGDs were on file for all nurses. This was confirmed when we inspected in December 2016.

Effective

Good

Updated 24 February 2017

Caring

Good

Updated 24 February 2017

Responsive

Good

Updated 24 February 2017

Well-led

Good

Updated 24 February 2017

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 24 February 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people with long term conditions. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this affected the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 24 February 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of families, children and young people. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this affected the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

Older people

Good

Updated 24 February 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of older people. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this affected the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 24 February 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of working age people (including those recently retired and students). As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this affected the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 24 February 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of working age people (including those recently retired and students). As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this affected the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 24 February 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people whose circumstances may make them vulnerable. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this affected the rating for the population groups we inspect against.