You are here

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 25 July 2018

Pulse 8 is a domiciliary care agency that provides personal care to people living in their own homes. Pulse 8 provides a service to people living with dementia, learning disabilities or autistic spectrum disorder, mental health, older people, younger adults, sensory impairment and physical disabilities. At the time of our inspection visit they provided a service to 56 people. Care calls provided to people ranged from 30 minutes to nine hours.

At the last inspection in April 2017, the service was rated overall, ‘Requires Improvement’. This was because the provider had not sent us statutory notifications in line with their legal responsibility. This was a breach of the regulations. We served a requirement notice and asked the provider to complete an action plan to show us what they would do, and by when, to improve their systems so we would be notified of important and serious events. This action plan was received by us within the requested time frame. At this inspection we found that improvements had been made and the regulation specified in the requirement notice had been met.

This inspection was a comprehensive inspection so we have inspected all key questions under the new framework to make sure all areas were re-inspected to validate the rating. Since our last inspection we received some information that continuity of staff was not always provided and we found there was some evidence to support this, although improvements had started to ensure staff consistency was maintained.

The office visit was completed by one inspector which took place on 14 June 2018 and was announced. We told the provider we were coming so they could arrange to be there and so they could contact people, to seek their permission for us to speak with them about their experience of using this service.

The service had a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

There were procedures to keep people safe and manage identified risks to people’s care. People and their relatives felt safe using the service and staff understood how to protect people from abuse and potential harm.

Where staff administered medicines, staff were trained and assessed as competent to do so. The provider’s recruitment process continued to ensure pre-employment checks were completed prior to staff starting work, to ensure staff were suitable to support people who used the service.

Staff used protective clothing when needed, such as disposable gloves and aprons when providing personal care tasks, which minimised the risk of infection.

People had an assessment of care completed before they used the service to make sure staff could meet people’s care and support needs. The provider put people’s needs first and if they felt they could not meet people’s needs without it having an impact on the people already receiving care, the package was not taken.

People said care staff stayed long enough to provide the care outlined in their care plans and were willing to help provide additional support if needed. However, people and relatives said care calls times were not always provided at consistent times, and the staff teams were not always the same, especially at weekends. Some people did not know in advance, who was providing their care. Measures were in place to improve this and people said in the last few weeks, consistency had improved.

Care plans provided information for staff about people’s care needs and the details of what they needed to do on each call and people and relatives were involved in making care decisions.

The registered manager and staff followed the principles of the Mental Capacity Act (MCA). Staff respected decisions people made abou

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 25 July 2018

The service remains safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 25 July 2018

The service remains effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 25 July 2018

The service remains caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 25 July 2018

The service remains responsive.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 25 July 2018

The service was not always well led.

Systems to monitor and review the quality of service people received required further improvement. The systems used to monitor the effectiveness of the service were not effective and a lack of audit records meant we could not be confident actions were taken. Some of the concerns about call consistencies and rota management were not part of a structured checking and analysis process. We were assured the provider was committed to putting this right.