You are here

My Care at Home Limited Good

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 17 October 2018

My Care at Home Limited is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to people living in their own home. It provides a service to adults. At the time of this announced inspection of 5 and 7 September 2018 there were 43 people who used the service. The provider was given 48 hours’ notice because we wanted to be certain the manager and key staff would be available on the day of our inspection. We also wanted to give them sufficient time to seek agreements with people so that we could visit them in their homes to find out about their experience of using the service.

At our last inspection on 28 January 2016, we rated the service overall good. The key questions safe effective, caring, responsive and well-led were all rated good.

At this inspection 05 and 07 September 2018, we found the evidence continued to support the overall rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

The service continued to provide people with a safe service. Care staff understood their roles and responsibilities in keeping people safe. Risks to people continued to be managed well, including from abuse and in their daily lives. The service learned from incidents to improve the service. Care workers had been recruited safely and there were enough care staff to cover people’s planned visits. Where people required assistance to take their medicines there were arrangements in place to provide this support safely. Systems were in place to reduce the risks of cross infection.

The service continued to provide people with an effective service. Care workers were trained and supported to meet people’s needs. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice. Where required, people were supported with their dietary needs. People were supported to maintain good health and access healthcare services where needed. The service worked with other organisations in people’s care to provide a consistent service.

The service continued to provide people with a caring service. Care workers had developed good relationships with people. They consistently protected people’s privacy and dignity and promoted their independence.

The service continued to provide people with a responsive service. People received care that was assessed, planned and delivered to meet their individual needs. People’s care records were accurate and reflected the care and support provided. Where required there were systems in place to care for people at the end of their lives. The service listened to people’s experiences, concerns and complaints and acted where needed.

The service continued to provide a well-led service. A system of audits ensured the provider had oversight of the quality and safety of the service and shortfalls were identified and addressed. There was a culture of listening to people and positively learning from events so similar incidents were not repeated. As a result, the quality of the service continued to develop.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 17 October 2018

The safe remains safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 17 October 2018

The service remains effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 17 October 2018

The service remains caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 17 October 2018

The service remains responsive.

Well-led

Good

Updated 17 October 2018

The service remains well-led.