You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 29 December 2018

This inspection took place on 26 and 27 November 2018 and was announced. We announced the inspection 48 hours in advance so that staff would be available at the head office to facilitate our inspection.

Adult Placement provides care and support for people over the age of 18 years who need support due to age, illness or disability. Care is provided by approved carers in their own home or, in some circumstances the person's own home. Carers provide support to people on either a long-term basis, for short-breaks (respite) or for day support. The service forms part of Aspire: for Intelligent Care and Support C.I.C and is located in Salford, Greater Manchester.

On the day of the inspection Adult Placement, Salford were supporting 130 people.

The service had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the CQC to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

The service was rated as good at the last inspection in March 2016. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection. However, we identified some gaps in training and made a recommendation that the provider review their induction and training package to ensure that carers have sight of recent best practice to care for people appropriately.

The service had been developed and designed in line with the principles that underpin the Registering the Right Support and other best practice guidance; these values include choice, promotion of independence and inclusion. This policy asserts that people with learning disabilities and autism using a service should live as ordinary a life as any citizen. This policy can be found on the Care Quality Commission website.

The registered manager and staff understood their role and responsibilities to keep people safe from harm. Risks were assessed and plans put in place to keep people safe. Pre-employment checks were carried out on staff to assess their suitability to support vulnerable people.

People's needs were assessed before using the service and on an ongoing basis to reflect any changes in need.

People who used the service and their relatives told us care staff were kind, caring and helpful and treated them with respect. All the people/relatives we spoke with felt the care staff were approachable, listened to them and acted in accordance with their wishes. People we spoke with told us staff respected their privacy and dignity and felt they encouraged them to be as independent as possible.

Staff understood the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA), they told us that if they had any concerns about the capacity of a person using the service, they would contact the office. We saw where people lacked capacity this was clearly recorded within their care plan.

The service was aware of equality and diversity and ensured any support people needed with their gender, sexuality, ethnicity, religion and culture was provided with empathy.

People’s communication needs were tailored to each person to ensure their wishes were known.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 29 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 29 December 2018

The service was not always effective.

Some carers were not up to date with the mandatory training required to refresh and update their knowledge.

Staff understood their responsibilities under the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) and the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS). Staff had been trained in the MCA and DoLS and could recognise what a deprivation of liberty was and how they must protect people�s rights.

Carers understood people�s physical, mental and medical needs, and liaised appropriately with relevant health care professionals.

Caring

Good

Updated 29 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 29 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 29 December 2018

The service remains Good.