You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 9 January 2019

This inspection took place between 01 and 07 November 2018 and was announced.

This service is a domiciliary care agency. It provided personal care to people living in their own houses and flats in the community. The service supported older adults who were living in the Trafford and Wythenshawe areas of Greater Manchester. At the time of our inspection, the service was providing support to 177 people, of whom, 71 received support with the regulated activity ‘personal care’. All people using the service either fully or part funded their own care.

Not everyone using Home Instead Senior Care received a regulated activity; CQC only inspects the service being received by people provided with ‘personal care’, which includes help with tasks related to personal hygiene and eating. Where people receive such support, we also take into account any wider social care provided by the service.

We last inspected Home Instead Senior Care in January 2016 when we rated the service good overall and in all key questions other than well-led, which was rated outstanding. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good, and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns.

The registered manager had recently resigned, and finished working their notice during this inspection. We saw the provider had recruited a new manager who had accepted an offer of employment and was working their notice in their current post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People received a reliable service from staff who attended their calls in a timely manner. There had been no missed calls to people receiving a regulated service in the past year, and people told us staff turned up on time. The provider had systems in place to monitor staff availability when deciding whether they had capacity to accept new care packages.

Staff assessed risks to people’s health, safety and wellbeing. Whilst some risk assessments were limited in detail, we found staff were aware of appropriate steps to take to keep people safe. Risks were also reduced as people received support from consistent staff teams.

Staff provided the support people needed to take their medicines as directed. However, in one case, we found staff had not followed safe procedures, and the provider’s own policy in relation to the administration of over the counter medicines. We saw the provider was introducing a new medicines administration policy at the time of our inspection that staff were receiving training in. The director confirmed this covered requirements in relation to the administration of over the counter medicines.

People’s needs were assessed prior to staff starting to provide a service. People felt that Home Instead Senior Care had a good understanding of their needs and preferences. People were supported to access other services to meet their health and social care support needs. However, we found some assessments were limited in detail and had not always been updated promptly following changes in people’s needs.

Staff received support and an induction that prepared them to undertake their job roles. People told us they were confident that staff had the skills and experience needed to meet their needs. We saw the provider carried out staff spot-checks and competency assessments. Reviews of people’s service also considered whether staff required any additional training to meet people’s assessed needs.

People were asked to sign forms to different aspects of their planned care and handling of records and information. However, we found shortfalls in this process. For example, one person had sig

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 9 January 2019

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 9 January 2019

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 9 January 2019

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 9 January 2019

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 9 January 2019

The service has deteriorated from outstanding to good.