You are here

Mydentist - High Street - Petersfield

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 24 November 2016

Further to the outcome of a previous inspection, carried out in November 2015, we carried out an announced focused inspection relating to the safe and well led provision of services on 2 August 2016 to ask the practice the following key questions;

Are services safe in relation to staff recruitment and safeguarding training?

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Background

CQC inspected the practice on 20 November 2015 and asked the provider to make improvements regarding:

  • Regulation 18 HSCA (RA) Regulations 2014 Staffing

  • Regulation 19 HSCA (RA) Regulations 2014 Fit and Proper Persons employed

We checked these areas as part of this focused inspection and found these had been resolved.

High Street Dental Centre is a dental practice providing mainly NHS and some private treatment and caters for both adults and children. The practice is situated in a converted commercial property. The practice has four dental treatment rooms and a separate decontamination room for cleaning, sterilising and packing dental instruments for the three dental treatment rooms on the first floor and a reception and waiting area. One of the dental treatment rooms is situated on the ground floor enabling disabled access. To facilitate access to this treatment room, a hydraulic lift is in place to help wheelchair users and other patients with mobility impairments negotiate the two steps leading to this treatment room.

The practice has six dentists, of which one is on maternity leave and one is a locum dentist, a dental therapist, five dental nurses three of whom are in training, two receptionists and a practice manager.

The practice’s opening hours are 8:00am – 5:30pm Monday to Friday. Extended hours are also available until 7pm on Thursday. There are arrangements in place to ensure patients receive urgent medical assistance when the practice is closed. This is provided by an out-of-hours service.

There was no registered manager at the time of our inspection at this location. We were shown evidence which confirmed the current Practice Manager was going through the CQC registration process to become the registered manager.

A registered manager is a person who is registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the practice is run.

The inspection was carried out by a CQC inspector.

Our key findings were:

  • Staff had received safeguarding training appropriate to their roles.

  • Staff recruitment files contained essential information in relation to Regulation 19, Schedule 3 of Health & Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2015.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 24 November 2016

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

At our previous inspection we identified risks that could compromise safe patient care and treatment with regard to staff recruitment and safeguarding children and vulnerable adults training. At this inspection we found risks in relation to these shortfalls were identified and mitigated.

Staff recruitment procedures ensured that all of the required checks for new staff were completed. Staff carried out safeguarding training and was aware of their responsibilities regarding maintaining their continuing professional development.

Effective

No action required

Updated 24 November 2016

Caring

No action required

Updated 24 November 2016

Responsive

No action required

Updated 24 November 2016

Well-led

No action required

Updated 24 November 2016