You are here

Carewatch (Lancashire West & Central) Good

We have edited an inspection report for Carewatch (Lancashire West & Central) in order to remove some text which should not have been included in this report. This has not affected the rating given to this service.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 8 February 2019

Carewatch (Lancashire West & Central) was inspected on the 22,23 and 24 January 2019 and the inspection was announced. We visited the office on the first day. We arranged to visit clients on the second day and telephoned randomly selected staff on the third day to gather their views. The registered manager was given 24 hours' notice as we needed to be sure people in the office and people the service supported would be available to speak to us.

This service is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to people living in their own houses and flats in the community. It provides a service to older adults. Carewatch (Lancashire West & Central) is registered to provide support with personal care. At the time of our inspection visit there were 87 people who received support.

Not everyone using Carewatch (Lancashire West & Central) receives regulated activity; CQC only inspects the service being received by people provided with ‘personal care’; help with tasks related to personal hygiene and eating. Where they do we also consider any wider social care provided.

There was a registered manager in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered managers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At the last inspection in March 2018, we found two breaches of regulation. We found breaches in the regulations related to safe care and treatment and good governance. We issued requirement notices for these breaches in regulation. In addition to the requirement notices we made a recommendation related to people’s capacity to consent to care.

Following the inspection in March 2018, we asked the registered manager to act to make improvements in the areas we had identified. The registered manager was required to send the CQC an action plan, outlining how they intended to make improvements. We used this inspection process carried out in January 2019 to check the action plan had been followed and improvements made.

At this inspection, we found improvements had been made. Staff had the skills, knowledge and experience required to support people with their care and support needs.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and documentation in the service supported this practice.

People’s care and support was planned with them. People told us they had been consulted and listened to about how their care would be delivered. Care plans held personalised information that guided staff on peoples support needs and promoted positive relationships.

Care records contained information about the individual's ongoing care and rehabilitation requirements. This showed us the registered manager worked alongside other health care services to meet people's health needs.

The service had systems to record safeguarding concerns, accidents and incidents and take necessary action as required. Staff had received safeguarding training and understood their responsibilities to report unsafe care or abusive practices.

Risk assessments had been developed to minimise the potential risk of harm to people during the delivery of their care. These had been kept under review and were relevant to the care provided.

Staff had been recruited safely, appropriately trained and supported. They had skills, knowledge and experience required to support people with their care and social needs. New staff shadowed experienced staff members while they learnt their role.

The registered manager completed spot checks on staff to observe their work practices were appropriate and people were safe.

The registered manager planned visits to allow carers enough time to reach people and complete all tasks required. People told us they mo

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 8 February 2019

The service was Safe.

Staff were trained and understood how to keep people safe from abuse.

People who had care staff visit them and their relatives told us people were safe.

Recruitment procedures were to assess the suitability of staff.

There were sufficient numbers of staff who were deployed effectively to ensure visits took place and were punctual.

The registered manager understood the importance of keeping people safe and had processes to manage safety.

Effective

Good

Updated 8 February 2019

The service was Effective.

The registered manager assessed people's care needs and delivered effective care and support in line with good practice guidelines.

Care staff had the training and management support they needed to support people effectively.

Where appropriate people were supported to have enough to eat and drink and access the healthcare services they needed.

The registered manager obtained people's or relative’s consent to the care and support they received when appropriate.

Caring

Good

Updated 8 February 2019

The service was Caring.

People told us they had formed positive relationships with staff who visited.

Care records promoted people's uniqueness, and people told us they were involved in planning and making decisions about their care.

People told us they were treated with dignity and respect by the all staff employed by Carewatch (Lancashire West & Central).

Responsive

Good

Updated 8 February 2019

The service was Responsive.

Care plans consistently reflected people’s current needs.

People's end of life care wishes were discussed and documented.

The registered manager had a complaints process and complaints were dealt with in line with their policy.

Well-led

Good

Updated 8 February 2019

The service was well led.

The registered manager was qualified, experienced and committed to providing high quality care and support to people using the service.

The management team involved people, their families, care staff and health and social care professionals in reviewing and improving the service.

The registered manager had systems and processes to monitor and make improvements.