You are here

Weston Favell Dental Practice

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 1 June 2016

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection on 12 April 2016 to ask the practice the following key questions; Are services safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services effective?

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services caring?

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services responsive?

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services well-led?

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Background

Weston Favell Dental Practice is a dental clinic in the Weston Favell area of Northampton town, and provides a range of NHS and private dental treatments to adults and children. It is part of a large group of dental practices in the area.

The practice is situated on the first floor of the Weston Favell Primary Care Centre and shares the building with four doctors’ surgeries and a pharmacy. It has seven treatment rooms, and a separate decontamination room, as well as an office, waiting area with reception and a staff room.

There is access to the first floor via stairs and a lift.

The practice manager is the registered manager. A registered manager is a person who is registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the practice is run.

The practice was first registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) in June 2011.

We received positive feedback from 37 patients about the services provided. This was through CQC comment cards left at the practice prior to the inspection and by speaking with patients in the practice.

Our key findings were

  • The practice met national standards in infection control.

  • Patients commented that staff were kind and friendly and were able to put nervous patients at ease.

  • There was appropriate equipment for staff to undertake their duties, and equipment was well maintained.

  • The practice had emergency medicines and equipment in line with national guidelines.

  • Staff recruitment checks had been carried out in accordance with schedule three of the Health and Social Care Act 2008. Disclosure and barring service checks had been carried out on all staff to ensure the practice employed fit and proper persons.

  • Dental care records were found to be accurate and detailed.

  • The practice used clinical audit as a tool to ensure continual improvement of the service and regularly carried out audits over and above those mandatory audits for infection control and quality of X-rays.

There were areas where the provider could make improvements and should:

  • Review the need to regularly review and update policies for the smooth running of the service, and to ensure that they remain relevant and up to date.
  • Review the availability of adrenaline over and above the stock that was carried in the event that this is used up before the emergency services are in attendance.
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 1 June 2016

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Staff demonstrated good understanding of the situations in which they may need to raise a safeguarding concern, and how they would undertake this.

The practice was carrying out decontamination and sterilisation of dental instruments in line with the ‘Health Technical Memorandum 01-05 (HTM 01-05): Decontamination in primary care dental practices.’ published by the Department of Health.

The practice carried emergency medicines and equipment in line with national guidelines, although only limited doses of a certain medicine were available. Following our inspection the practice purchased extra doses.

Effective

No action required

Updated 1 June 2016

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Dentists we spoke with used nationally recognised guidance in their care and treatment of patients.

Comprehensive medical history forms were completed and reviewed regularly to ensure that the clinicians were kept up to date with changes that may affect treatment.

Dental care records were detailed and accurate and demonstrated discussions between clinicians and patients.

Caring

No action required

Updated 1 June 2016

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Patients commented that staff were friendly and kind, and were skilled at treating children and those with individual needs.

Dental care records were stored securely on the premises.

We witnessed staff welcoming patients in a polite and professional manner.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 1 June 2016

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had access to an interpreting service to help patients for whom English was not their first language.

The practice had a lift to help patients with limited mobility access the premises and an evacuation chair to safely transport them down the stairs in the event of an emergency or mechanical fault.

The practice set aside emergency appointments in the morning and afternoon so that patients in pain could be seen in a timely manner

Well-led

No action required

Updated 1 June 2016

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice carried out regular audits to ensure continuous improvement of the service, these included mandatory audits in infection control and quality of X-rays.

Regular practice meetings ensured that all staff were up to date with developments.

The practice had a range of policies which were available in hard copy form for all staff to reference in the policy folders, although these had not always been recently reviewed.