You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 7 May 2019

We undertook a follow up focused inspection of Hainault Dental Practice on 20 February 2019. This inspection was carried out to review in detail the actions taken by the registered provider to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the practice was now meeting legal requirements.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who was supported by a specialist dental adviser.

We undertook a comprehensive inspection of Hainault Dental Practice on 28 November 2018 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We found the registered provider was not providing safe or well led care and was in breach of regulations 12 Safe care and treatment, 17 Good governance and 18 Staffing of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Hainault Dental Practice on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

• Is it safe?

• Is it well-led?

When one or more of the five questions are not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the areas where improvement was required.

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements in relation to the regulatory breaches we found at our inspection on 28 November 2018.

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements in relation to the regulatory breaches we found at our inspection on 28 November 2018.

Background

Hainault Dental Practice is in Ilford in the London Borough of Redbridge. The practice provides NHS and private general dental treatment to patients of all ages.

The practice is situated close to public transport bus and train services.

The dental team includes the principal dentist who owns the practice, three associate dentists, two dental hygienists, four dental nurses and one trainee dental nurse. The clinical team are supported by a practice manager and a receptionist.

The practice is owned by an individual who is the principal dentist there. They have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the practice is run.

During the inspection we spoke with the principal dentist, one dental hygienist, one dental nurse and the practice manager.

We looked at practice policies and procedures and other records about how the service is managed.

The practice is open:

Mondays to Thursdays between 9am and 5pm.

Fridays between 9am and 1pm.

Our key findings were:

  • The practice infection control procedures were in line with published guidance. Staff undertook appropriate infection prevention and control training and infection prevention and control audits were carried out to monitor infection control procedures.

  • There suitable systems in place to deal with medical emergencies. The recommended life-saving equipment and medicines were available and staff had completed training in medical emergencies.

  • The practice had made improvements to the systems to help them manage risk. There were arrangements to ensure that risks in relation to infection control, the use and disposal of dental sharps and the management of hazardous materials were regularly assessed and managed.

  • The practice had made improvements to their safeguarding processes and staff had up to date training for safeguarding adults and children.

  • Improvements had been made to the practice staff recruitment procedures and the appropriate and essential checks were carried out when employing new staff.

  • Improvements had been made so that the practice dealt with complaints positively and used learning from complaints to monitor and improve services.

  • Improvements had been made to the arrangements to respond to the needs of patients with disability and the requirements of the Equality Act 2010.

  • There was effective leadership, and improvements had been made to the arrangements for monitoring the quality and safety of the services provided.

  • The arrangements for assessing and minimising risks associated with lone working had been reviewed and improved.

  • Information in relation to safety including patient safety alerts, recalls and rapid response reports issued from the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) were reviewed and shared to help monitor and improve safety.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 7 May 2019

We found that this practice was providing safe care and was complying with the relevant regulations.

Improvements had been made to the practice arrangements for assessing risks and for monitoring safety.

There were risk assessments in place in relation to infection control practices, Legionella and the use and disposal of dental sharps. There were arrangements for the regular service and maintenance of the equipment.

There were suitable systems for recruiting staff and undertaking the essential checks.

There were arrangements for receiving, reviewing and acting on safety alerts and other information to improve safety within the practice. 

Effective

No action required

Updated 7 May 2019

Caring

No action required

Updated 7 May 2019

Responsive

No action required

Updated 7 May 2019

Well-led

No action required

Updated 7 May 2019

We found that this practice was providing well-led care and was complying with the relevant regulations.

There was a defined management structure and improvements had been made to the oversight and management systems for the day to day management of the practice.

The practice had improved its systems to effectively assess and mitigate risks where we had identified issues. There were reviews and audits carried out to monitor and review quality and safety within the practice.

There were arrangements in place to check that clinical staff had adequate immunity for vaccine preventable infectious diseases.

The practice had improved on its arrangements for monitoring staff training and ensuring that records were available to demonstrate that relevant staff were up to date with their continuing professional development in areas such as safeguarding adults and children, infection control, basic life support and medical emergencies. There were on-going arrangements in place to monitor and appraise staff performance.