You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at DiMedic Limited. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 29 October 2018

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We previously carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at DiMedic Limited on 16 November 2017 during which we found the service was not providing safe services and issued a requirement notice. However, we found they were providing effective, caring, responsive and well-led services in accordance with the relevant regulations. The full comprehensive report on this inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all services’ link for location name on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

We carried out this announced focused inspection at DiMedic Limited on 18 September 2017. We inspected the ‘Are services safe?’ key question to check the service met the requirements of regulation 12 HSCA (RA) Regulations 2014 Safe care and treatment and had made the necessary improvements.

DiMedic Ltd provides an online clinic, consultation, treatment and prescribing service for a limited number of medical conditions to patients primarily from England, Poland and Germany. As the provider’s website was in Polish the service could only be accessed by Polish speaking patients.

Our findings in relation to the key questions were as follows:

Are services safe? – we found the service was providing a safe service in accordance with the relevant regulations. Specifically:

  • Arrangements were in place to safeguard people, including arrangements to check patient identity. Where a patient consented there were processes in place to share information with their own GP.
  • There were systems in place to receive, disseminate and consider National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) and other clinical guidelines and national patient safety alerts.

The area where the provider should make improvement is:

  • Develop and implement processes, in line with GMC guidance, for communicating with patients who choose not to consent to information about their participation in the programme being shared with their registered GP.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 29 October 2018

Effective

Updated 29 October 2018

Caring

Updated 29 October 2018

Responsive

Updated 29 October 2018

Well-led

Updated 29 October 2018