You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 6 September 2018

Gian Healthcare is a Domiciliary Care service registered to provide personal care and support to people who live in their own home, predominantly in the Stockport area of Greater Manchester.

We last inspected Gian Healthcare in April 2017 where the service was rated as Requires Improvement overall and in the Effective and Well-led key questions. This was due to breaches of regulation 17 and 18 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014, due to concerns found relating to staff induction, supervision and quality monitoring systems.

This latest inspection took place on 25 July 2018. We gave the service 48 hours’ notice to ensure the registered manager would be in the office to facilitate the inspection. At the time of this inspection, four people were receiving domiciliary care support from Gian Healthcare, however only two were in receipt of a regulated activity which was personal care. Other people who used the service received support with domestic tasks such as cleaning and other household tasks.

We found appropriate action had been taken to address the concerns found at the inspection in April 2017.

There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

The service had a robust recruitment process to help ensure people employed were suitable to work with vulnerable people.

Safeguarding policies and procedures were in place and the staff demonstrated a good understanding of safeguarding concerns and the process to follow if they suspected abuse had taken place.

Risk assessments were in place and support plans devised to mitigate any risks presented to people.

Appropriate systems were in place to manage people’s medication.

Staff told us they were well supported and were inducted in to the service and received ongoing training to support them to undertake their role. We found improvements had been made to the staff induction and supervisions processes which had been a concern at our previous inspection in April 2017.

The service was working within the legal requirements of the Mental Capacity Act (MCA) 2005 and staff displayed a good understanding in this area.

Appropriate systems were in place to ensure people received good nutrition and hydration and that specific diets were catered for such as for those people with diabetes.

The feedback we received was that staff were kind and caring towards people.

Each person who used the service had an appropriate care plan in place which provided person centred information about how they liked their care to be delivered.

There was a complaints policy in place and we saw any complaints had been responded to appropriately.

Each person who used the service had their own care plan in place which provided detailed information about the care and support they required from staff.

We received positive feedback about management and leadership. Systems and processes were in place to monitor the quality of service being delivered.

A range of policies and procedures were in place to ensure appropriate guidance could be sought when needed.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 6 September 2018

The service was safe.

People we spoke with told us they felt safe using the service, as did a relative we talked to.

Appropriate systems were in place to ensure the safe management of medicines.

There were robust recruitment procedures in place and required checks were undertaken before staff began to work for the service.

Effective

Good

Updated 6 September 2018

The service was effective.

Staff received the necessary induction, training, supervision and appraisal to support them in their role.

The service was working within the legal requirements of the Mental Capacity Act (2005) (MCA).

People had been given the opportunity to provide consent to the care and support they received.

Caring

Good

Updated 6 September 2018

The service was caring.

We received positive comments about the care being provided.

People who used the service and relatives said staff were kind and caring.

People felt treated with dignity and respect.

Responsive

Good

Updated 6 September 2018

The service was responsive.

A complaints policy and procedure was in place.

Care plans provided person centred information about people who used the service.

There were systems in place to seek and respond to feedback about people’s views of the service.

Well-led

Good

Updated 6 September 2018

The service was well-led.

The staff we spoke with told us they enjoyed working at the service and were supported to undertake their role by management.

The service had systems in place to monitor the quality of service delivery and had appropriate auditing systems and processes.

Team meetings were held so that staff could talk about their work and raise concerns as needed.