You are here

Mydentist - Laughton Road - Dinnington Also known as mydentist

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 28 January 2019

We undertook a follow up desk-based focused inspection of Mydentist - Laughton Road - Dinnington on 2 January 2019. This inspection was carried out to review in detail the actions taken by the registered provider to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the practice was now meeting legal requirements.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector.

We undertook a comprehensive inspection of Mydentist - Laughton Road - Dinnington on 8 August 2018 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We found the registered provider was not providing well led care and was in breach of regulations 17 and 19 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Mydentist - Laughton Road - Dinnington on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

As part of this inspection we asked:

• Is it well-led?

When one or more of the five questions are not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the areas where improvement was required.

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements in relation to the regulatory breaches we found at our inspection on 2 January 2019.

Background

Mydentist Laughton Road Dinnington is in Sheffield and provides NHS and private treatment to adults and children.

There is level access for people who use wheelchairs and those with pushchairs. Car parking spaces are available near the practice.

The dental team includes three dentists, five dental nurses (two of whom are trainees), a receptionist and a practice manager. The practice has four treatment rooms.

The practice is owned by a company and as a condition of registration must have a person registered with the Care Quality Commission as the registered manager. Registered managers have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the practice is run. The registered manager at Mydentist Laughton Road Dinnington is the practice manager.

Prior to the desk based focussed inspection, we received supporting evidence and written confirmation of action taken by the practice to address the areas previously identified as a breach of regulation.

The practice is open:

Monday and Tuesday 9am – 6pm, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday 9am – 5pm

Our key findings were:

  • Infection prevention and control processes were embedded and carried out in line with published guidance.
  • The management of safe sharps systems were now effective.
  • Systems to monitor training and gather relevant training records were now effective.
  • Effective recruitment procedures and relevant evidence gathering processes were now in place.
  • The clinical waste segregation procedures were now embedded and in line with guidance.
  • The practice had reviewed and improved its culture of continuous improvement.
  • Clinical and information governance arrangements were updated and embedded within the team.

 

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 28 January 2019

Effective

No action required

Updated 28 January 2019

Caring

No action required

Updated 28 January 2019

Responsive

No action required

Updated 28 January 2019

Well-led

No action required

Updated 28 January 2019

We found that this practice was providing well-led care and was complying with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements to the management of the service. This included additional staff time for management, administration and establishing clear roles and responsibilities for all the practice team. The improvements provided a sound footing for the ongoing development of effective governance arrangements at the practice.

The processes to manage safe sharps systems had been improved. Staff training had taken place to reinforce sharps management in line with reviewed policies and procedures and an annual review of sharps incidents was introduced.

The provider had reviewed and embedded its infection prevention and control (IPC) processes and submitted evidence to support where changes had taken place.

The process to manage voided prescriptions was updated and embedded within the team.

The practice’s quality assurance and audit processes for X-rays, IPC and patient referrals had been improved.

Information governance and clinical governance arrangements, including local rules for X-ray equipment and clinical waste segregation had been reviewed. These were brought in line with current guidance and regulations and related processes embedded within the team.

Areas identified for improvement during the previous inspection relating to the practice’s recruitment procedures had been reviewed and updated.