You are here

Bean Road Medical Practice Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 27 February 2020

We carried out a comprehensive unannounced inspection of Bean Medical Practice on 8 January 2020. We inspected Bean Medical Practice due to concerns identified at an inspection of Clifton Medical Centre and it’s branch surgery, Victoria Road Surgery on 19 December 2019. As there were concerns identified at a provider level, highlighting a lack of effective leadership and clinical oversight, a decision was made to inspect each of the providers (Dr Devanna Manivasagam’s) services on 8 January 2020.

This inspection focused on the following key questions:

Are services at this location safe?

Are services at this location effective?

Are services at this location caring?

Are services at this location responsive?

Are services at this location well-led?

We based our judgement of the quality of care at this service on a combination of:

  • what we found when we inspected
  • information from our ongoing monitoring of data about services and
  • information from the provider, patients, the public and other organisations

We have rated this practice as good overall and requires improvement for effective and the population groups of families, children and young people and working age people (including those recently retired and students)).

We rated the practice as requires improvement for providing effective services because:

  • The practice’s uptake of childhood immunisations and cervical cancer screening rates were below the national averages and action taken had not yet demonstrated improved outcomes.

We rated the practice as good for providing safe, caring, responsive and well-led services because:

  • There were clearly defined and embedded systems, processes and practices in place to keep people safe and safeguarded from abuse.
  • Staff had the skills, knowledge and experience to deliver effective care and treatment that met their needs.
  • Patients needs were assessed and care and treatment was delivered in line with current legislation.
  • Risks to patients were assessed and well managed.
  • The practice used clinical audit as a method of identifying where improvements were required.
  • The practice organised and delivered services to meet patients’ needs.

The areas where the provider should make improvements:

  • Continue work to increase the uptake for cervical, breast and bowel screening.
  • Continue work to increase the uptake for immunisations.
  • Continue work on improved outcomes for patients where satisfaction levels are still low.
  • Continue work to increase care plans for patients with dementia.
  • Continue work to identify and support carers registered in the practice.
  • Review the designation of lead roles in the practice in the absence of the lead GP.
  • Continue to review the processes of checking vaccinations in the practice.
  • Review recruitment files to ensure these are in line with best practice.
  • Review the business continuity plan in the absence of the lead GP.

Details of our findings and the evidence supporting our ratings are set out in the evidence tables.

Dr Rosie Benneyworth BM BS BMedSci MRCGP

Chief Inspector of Primary Medical Services and Integrated Care

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 27 February 2020

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 27 February 2020

Caring

Good

Updated 27 February 2020

Responsive

Good

Updated 27 February 2020

Well-led

Good

Updated 27 February 2020

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 27 February 2020

Families, children and young people

Requires improvement

Updated 27 February 2020

Older people

Good

Updated 27 February 2020

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Requires improvement

Updated 27 February 2020

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 27 February 2020

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 27 February 2020