You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 23 May 2019

We undertook a follow up focused inspection of Dalton Dental Care Limited on 29 April 2019. This inspection was carried out to review in detail the actions taken by the registered provider to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the practice was now meeting legal requirements.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who was supported by a specialist dental adviser.

We undertook a comprehensive inspection of Dalton Dental Care Limited on 21 January 2019 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We found the registered provider was not providing well led care and was in breach of regulation 17 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Dalton Dental Care Limited on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

As part of this inspection we asked:

• Is it well-led?

When one or more of the five questions are not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the areas where improvement was required.

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements in relation to the regulatory breach we found at our inspection on 21 January 2019.

Background

Dalton Dental Care Limited is in Huddersfield and provides NHS and private treatment to adults and children.

Due to the nature of the premises access for wheelchair users is not possible. Wheelchair users or those who cannot manage steps would be signposted to either the local community dental service or an accessible local dental practice. Car parking spaces are available near the practice.

The dental team includes four dentists and six dental nurses (one of whom also works as the practice manager). The practice has three treatment rooms.

The practice is owned by a company and as a condition of registration must have a person registered with the Care Quality Commission as the registered manager. Registered managers have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the practice is run. The registered manager at Dalton Dental Care Limited is the principal dentist.

During the inspection we spoke with the practice manager. We looked at practice policies and procedures and other records about how the service is managed.

The practice is open:

Monday to Friday from 9:00am to 5:30pm

Our key findings were:

  • Improvements had been made to the process for ensuring medical emergency equipment reflects nationally recognised guidance.
  • Improvements had been made to the systems and processes for managing the risks associated with fire, Legionella and the use of radiation.
  • Improvements had been made to the recruitment process.
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 23 May 2019

Effective

No action required

Updated 23 May 2019

Caring

No action required

Updated 23 May 2019

Responsive

No action required

Updated 23 May 2019

Well-led

No action required

Updated 23 May 2019

We found that this practice was providing well-led care and was complying with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements to the management of the service. This included providing additional staff time available for management and administration, establishing clear roles and responsibilities for all the practice team. The improvements included:

  • Implementing a system to ensure medical emergency equipment reflected nationally recognised guidance.
  • Implementing checks on smoke alarms and firefighting equipment.
  • Addressing the risks associated with Legionella.
  • Addressing the risks associated with the use of radiation.
  • Obtaining photographic identification for all staff and evidence of immunity to Hepatitis B for the staff whom it was missing for at the initial inspection.
  • Updating the Control of Substances Hazardous to Health (COSHH) folder.
  • Reviewing the process for the storage and re-processing of re-suable dental instruments.