You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 27 June 2017

Further to the outcome of a previous inspection, carried out in February 2017, we carried out an announced focused inspection relating to the well led provision of services on 15 July 2017 to ask the practice the following key question;

Are services well-led in relation to governance; specifically to storage of staff recruitment and training records, management of fire safety and storage of substances subject to COSHH regulations?

Our findings were:

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Background:

CQC inspected the practice on 14 and 15 February 2017 and asked the provider to make improvements regarding:

• Regulation 17 HSCA (RA) Regulations 2014 Good Governance

We checked this area as part of this focused inspection and found this had been resolved.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Oasis Dental Care Southern – Oxford on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Oasis Dental Care Southern Oxford is a dental practice providing NHS and private treatment for both adults and children. The practice is based in a converted domestic dwelling in Oxford.

The practice has seven dental treatment rooms two of which are based on the ground floor and a separate decontamination area used for cleaning, sterilising and packing dental instruments. The ground floor is accessible to wheelchair users, prams and patients with limited mobility via a ramp.

The practice employs seven dentists, one hygienist, seven nurses, two trainee nurses, four receptionists and a practice manager.

The practice’s opening hours are between 8.30am and 7pm from Monday to Thursday, 8.30am and 4pm on Friday and 9am and 2pm on Saturday.

Arrangements are in place to ensure patients receive urgent medical assistance when the practice is closed. This is provided by an out-of-hours service, via 111.

The practice manager is the registered manager. A registered manager is a person who is registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the practice is run. At the time of our inspection the registered manager was away from the practice on long term leave. A manager from another of the provider’s locations was managing the service meanwhile.

Our key findings were:

  • Effective systems were in place to manage fire safety.
  • Substances subject to COSHH regulations were stored securely.
  • Staff recruitment and training records were collated and stored securely.
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 27 June 2017

Effective

No action required

Updated 27 June 2017

Caring

No action required

Updated 27 June 2017

Responsive

No action required

Updated 27 June 2017

Well-led

No action required

Updated 27 June 2017

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice stored records of staff recruitment and training in a secure manner.

Systems and procedures were set up to ensure the management of fire safety and substances subject to COSHH regulations were stored securely.