You are here

Archived: Carr Bank House Good

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 23 May 2018

This inspection was unannounced and took place on 28 March and 5 April 2018. The last inspection of Carr Bank House took place in January 2017 when we found all the regulations we reviewed were met.

Carr Bank House is a privately owned care home providing accommodation for up to 14 adults with mental health needs. The home consists of two adjoining properties that have been adapted to form a large house. There is a small garden to the front of the home. It is located in a residential area, close to Bury town centre, and is within easy reach of public transport. There were 13 people accommodated at the home on the days of the inspection.

Prior to this inspection we received information that raised some concerns around record keeping at the service.

At our last inspection on 10 January 2017 we rated the service Good overall. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and on-going monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in the shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Why the service is rated good.

The service has a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirement in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. People were positive about the registered manager and the way the home was run.

The people who used the service felt safe and staff we spoke with understood their role in protecting vulnerable adults. Recruitment procedures were robust and minimised the risk of unsuitable people being employed.

People enjoyed support from a stable team of staff who knew the people living at Carr Bank House well.

People received support that maximised their independence and risk assessments were in place to support them in the least restrictive way possible.

Appropriate action was taken to keep the property clean and to remain free of any offensive odours.

Medicines were safely managed and people told us they received their medicines as prescribed by their doctor.

Care plans and risk assessments were in place and were based on the individual needs of each person and were regularly reviewed.

Staff we spoke with and records seen showed that staff received the training and support they needed to carry out their job roles effectively.

Care records were stored securely in order to maintain confidentiality.

There was a suitable complaints procedure located in the hallway and each person was provided with their own copy as part of the service user guide information provided on admission.

Systems were in place to monitor and help maintain the quality of service being provided.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 23 May 2018

The service remains Good

Effective

Good

Updated 23 May 2018

The service remains Good

Caring

Good

Updated 23 May 2018

The service remains Good

Responsive

Good

Updated 23 May 2018

The service remains Good

Well-led

Good

Updated 23 May 2018

The service remains Good