You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 31 January 2020

We undertook a focused inspection of Maxident – Linden Grove on 14 January 2020. This inspection was carried out to review in detail the actions taken by the registered provider to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the practice was now meeting legal requirements.

The inspection was led by a Care Quality Commission (CQC) inspector who was supported by a second CQC inspector and a specialist dental adviser.

We undertook a focused inspection of Maxident – Linden Grove on 7 June 2019 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions.

We found the registered provider was not providing well led care and was in breach of regulations17, 18 and 19 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014.

You can read our reports of these inspections by selecting the 'all reports' link for Maxident – Linden Grove dental practice on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

As part of this inspection we asked:

• Is it well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements in relation to the regulatory breaches we found at our inspection on 7 June 2019.

Background

Maxident – Linden Green is in Nunhead, in the London borough of Southwark, and provides NHS and private treatment for adults and children.

There is level access for people who use wheelchairs and those with pushchairs. Car parking spaces are available near the practice.

The dental team includes two dentists, two trainee dental nurses and one practice manager/ receptionist. The practice has two treatment rooms.

The practice is owned by a company and as a condition of registration must have a person registered with the Care Quality Commission as the registered manager. Registered managers have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the practice is run. At the time of inspection there was no registered manager in post as required as a condition of registration. A registered manager is legally responsible for the delivery of services for which the practice is registered.

During the inspection we spoke with two dentists, one trainee dental nurse and the practice manager/receptionist. We looked at practice policies and procedures and other records about how the service is managed.

The practice is open: Monday to Friday 9am to 5.30pm. It is closed for lunch between 1pm and 2pm each day.

Our key findings were:

  • The provider had infection control procedures which reflected published guidance.
  • Staff knew how to deal with emergencies. Appropriate medicines and life-saving equipment were available.
  • The provider had systems to help them manage risk to patients and staff.
  • The provider had safeguarding processes and staff knew their responsibilities for safeguarding vulnerable adults and children.
  • The provider had staff recruitment procedures which reflected current legislation.
  • The dentist used dental dam in line with guidance from the British Endodontic Society when providing root canal treatment.
  • The practice had implemented a Reporting of Injuries, Diseases and Dangerous Occurrences Regulations (RIDDOR) policy and the practice manager/receptionist had undertaken training in this area.
  • The staff team were aware of which notifications should be made to CQC.
  • The practice had a process for the disposal of amalgam.
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 31 January 2020

Effective

No action required

Updated 31 January 2020

Caring

No action required

Updated 31 January 2020

Responsive

No action required

Updated 31 January 2020

Well-led

No action required

Updated 31 January 2020