You are here

Mr Steven Alan Jepson - Blackpool

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 7 August 2018

We carried out a focused inspection of Mr Steven Alan Jepson – Blackpool on 27 June 2018.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who was supported by a specialist dental adviser.

We undertook a comprehensive inspection of Mr Steven Alan Jepson – Blackpool on 24 January 2018 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We found the registered provider was providing safe, effective, caring and responsive care in accordance with relevant regulations. We judged the practice was not providing well-led care in accordance with Regulation 17 ‘good governance’ of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Mr Steven Alan Jepson – Blackpool on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

We undertook a follow up focused inspection of Mr Steven Alan Jepson – Blackpool on 27 June 2018. This inspection was carried out to review in detail the actions taken by the practice to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the practice was now meeting legal requirements.

When one or more of the five questions is not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the area where improvement was required.

At this focused inspection we asked the question

• Is it well-led?

This question forms the framework for the area we look at during the inspection.

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements to put right the concerns identified and deal with the regulatory breach we found at our inspection on 24 January 2018.

Background

Mr Steven Alan Jepson – Blackpool is in centre of Blackpool and provides NHS and private treatment to adults and children.

There is level access for people who use wheelchairs and those with pushchairs. Car parking spaces are available near the practice.

The dental team includes 12 dentists, 19 dental nurses, two dental hygienists, one dental hygiene therapist and four receptionists. The team is supported by a practice manager. The practice has 13 treatment rooms.

The practice is owned by an individual who is the principal dentist and a partner there. They have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the practice is run.

During the inspection we spoke with the practice manager. We looked at practice policies and procedures and other records about how the service has made improvements to meet the requirement notice served in January 2018.

Our key findings were:

  • The practice had developed infection control procedures which reflected published guidance.
  • Staff knew how to deal with emergencies. Appropriate medicines and life-saving equipment were available.
  • The practice had reviewed systems to help them manage risk.
  • The practice had introduced thorough staff recruitment procedures.
  • The practice had developed their leadership and culture of continuous improvement.
  • The practice asked staff and patients for feedback about the services they provided.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 7 August 2018

Effective

No action required

Updated 7 August 2018

Caring

No action required

Updated 7 August 2018

Responsive

No action required

Updated 7 August 2018

Well-led

No action required

Updated 7 August 2018

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements to the management of the service. This included making additional staff time available for management and administration and establishing clear roles and responsibilities for all the practice team. The improvements provided a sound footing for the ongoing development of effective governance arrangements at the practice.