You are here

Archived: 5 De Parys Dental Care - Bedford

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 24 June 2016

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection of this practice on 9 November 2015. Breaches of legal requirements were found. After the comprehensive inspection, the practice wrote to us to say what they would do to meet legal requirements in relation to the breaches.

We undertook this focused inspection to check that they had followed their plan and to confirm that they now met legal requirements. This report only covers our findings in relation to those requirements. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for 5 De Parys Dental Care - Bedford on our website at www.cqc.org.uk

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Background

5 De Parys Dental Care is a private dental practice in the centre of Bedford. It is situated on the ground floor of a converted Victorian townhouse.

The practice has three surgeries, and offers a range of general dental treatment and tooth whitening. They also give the option of treatment under conscious sedation.

The principal dentist offers a range of facial aesthetic treatments (these are cosmetic treatments including dermal fillers and botulinum toxin treatment) in addition to the general dentistry.

The CQC inspected the practice on 9 November 2015 and asked the provider to make improvements regarding staff recruitment, reviewing policies, clinical audit and maintaining oversight of continuous professional development (CPD) training by the staff to ensure they remained up to date. We checked these areas as part of this comprehensive inspection and found this had been resolved.

The principal dentist is registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) as an individual. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the practice is run.

Our key findings were

  • The practice had implemented a system by which staff were asked to declare the CPD they had carried out so that the practice principal could maintain oversight of the training needs of the staff.

  • Infection control audit had been carried out which was detailed, and had generated an action plan.

  • The practice had implemented an induction record that highlighted the pre-employment checks so that the practice could be assured of employing fit and proper persons.

  • Practice policies had been reviewed and updated.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 24 June 2016

Effective

No action required

Updated 24 June 2016

Caring

No action required

Updated 24 June 2016

Responsive

No action required

Updated 24 June 2016

Well-led

No action required

Updated 24 June 2016

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had implemented several new systems to ensure compliance with the relevant regulations. These included a system by which staff would inform the practice manager on an annual basis of their CPD activity in the previous year.

The practice had implemented a new recruitment policy, and an induction checklist to ensure that all appropriate checks were completed on new staff.