You are here

Archived: 5 De Parys Dental Care - Bedford

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 24 June 2016

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection of this practice on 9 November 2015. Breaches of legal requirements were found. After the comprehensive inspection, the practice wrote to us to say what they would do to meet legal requirements in relation to the breaches.

We undertook this focused inspection to check that they had followed their plan and to confirm that they now met legal requirements. This report only covers our findings in relation to those requirements. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for 5 De Parys Dental Care - Bedford on our website at www.cqc.org.uk

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Background

5 De Parys Dental Care is a private dental practice in the centre of Bedford. It is situated on the ground floor of a converted Victorian townhouse.

The practice has three surgeries, and offers a range of general dental treatment and tooth whitening. They also give the option of treatment under conscious sedation.

The principal dentist offers a range of facial aesthetic treatments (these are cosmetic treatments including dermal fillers and botulinum toxin treatment) in addition to the general dentistry.

The CQC inspected the practice on 9 November 2015 and asked the provider to make improvements regarding staff recruitment, reviewing policies, clinical audit and maintaining oversight of continuous professional development (CPD) training by the staff to ensure they remained up to date. We checked these areas as part of this comprehensive inspection and found this had been resolved.

The principal dentist is registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) as an individual. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the practice is run.

Our key findings were

  • The practice had implemented a system by which staff were asked to declare the CPD they had carried out so that the practice principal could maintain oversight of the training needs of the staff.

  • Infection control audit had been carried out which was detailed, and had generated an action plan.

  • The practice had implemented an induction record that highlighted the pre-employment checks so that the practice could be assured of employing fit and proper persons.

  • Practice policies had been reviewed and updated.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 4 February 2016

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice demonstrated robust policies and procedures for protection of children and safeguarding of vulnerable adults, staff knew the signs of abuse and who they would report them to.

The practice was performing adequately under the guidance of the Health and Technical Memorandum 01-05 (HTM01-05) in infection control, although infection control audits were overdue, and no action plans to address identified short falls were seen following previous audits.

Staff were suitably qualified for their roles; however there were omissions in the recruitment protocol and staff files meaning that we could not be assured that the practice had employed fit and proper persons.

Medical emergency equipment and drugs were available, and staff had good knowledge of what action to take in a variety of medical emergencies.

Effective

No action required

Updated 4 February 2016

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

A robust assessment of patients’ oral health was made at each check-up appointment, including checks of the soft tissues of the mouth and checks on gum health.

Staff had a good understanding of the core principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005. Particularly its relevance in acquiring consent from patients who might lack the capacity to consent for themselves.

Caring

No action required

Updated 4 February 2016

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Feedback we received from patients described their experiences at the practice as friendly, respectful, kind, and caring.

Patients felt that their treatment options were always explained thoroughly to them by staff, including the costs involved.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 4 February 2016

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice arranged their opening times to be flexible for as many of their patients as possible, with late evenings once a week, and Saturday opening once a month.

Out of hours the patients were able to contact the principal dentist at any time should they have a dental emergency.

Any complaints to the practice were thoroughly investigated, and handled in accordance with the practice’s complaints policy.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 24 June 2016

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had implemented several new systems to ensure compliance with the relevant regulations. These included a system by which staff would inform the practice manager on an annual basis of their CPD activity in the previous year.

The practice had implemented a new recruitment policy, and an induction checklist to ensure that all appropriate checks were completed on new staff.