You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 23 October 2017

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Royton Medical Centre on 19 May 2017. The overall rating for the practice was good, with a rating of requires improvement in the safe domain. The full comprehensive report on the May 2017 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Royton Medical Centre on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 5 October 2017 to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breach of regulation that we identified in our previous inspection on 19 May 2017. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements. We also looked at the areas we suggested improvements should be made.

The practice is now rated as good for providing safe services, with the overall rating remaining as good.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • There was a robust recruitment process and all required information for staff was held.

  • All relevant information for locum staff was provided prior to them working at the practice.

  • A system was in place to ensure all significant events were formally reviewed, with improvements being monitored.

  • All Patient Group Directions (PGDs) had been reviewed and there was a system in place to ensure they were all up to date.

  • There was a health and safty folder documenting all health and safety checks carried out by the practice.

  • There was a system where all training, on-line and face to face, was recorded and monitored.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 23 October 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing safe services.

  • There was a robust recruitment process and all required information for staff was held.

  • All relevant information for locum staff was providing prior to them working at the practice.

  • A system was in place to ensure all significant events were formally reviewed, with improvements being monitored.

  • All patient group directions (PGDs) had been reviewed and there was a system in place to ensure they were all up to date.

  • There was a health and safety folder documenting all health and safety checks carried out by the practice.

Effective

Good

Updated 23 October 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing effective services.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection 19 May 2017. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website. http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

On this inspection we reviewed evidence to demonstrate how they had improved some of their protocols in relation to the key question effective since the last inspection.

  • There was a system where all training, on-line and face to face, was recorded and monitored.

Caring

Good

Updated 23 October 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing caring services.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection 19 May 2017. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website. http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Responsive

Good

Updated 23 October 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing responsive services.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection 19 May 2017. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website.

http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Well-led

Good

Updated 23 October 2017

The practice is rated as good for being well-led.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection 19 May 2017. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website. http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 23 October 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people with long-term conditions.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection 19 May 2017. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website.

http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 23 October 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of families, children and young people.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection 19 May 2017. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website.

http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Older people

Good

Updated 23 October 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of older people.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection 19 May 2017. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website.

http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 23 October 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of working age people (including those recently retired and students).

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection 19 May 2017. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website.

http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 23 October 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia).

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection 19 May 2017. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website.

http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 23 October 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people whose circumstances may make them vulnerable.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection 19 May 2017. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website.

http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps