You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 27 April 2018

We carried out a focused inspection of Wood Street Dental Practice on 19 April 2018.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who had remote access to a specialist dental adviser.

We carried out the inspection to follow up concerns we originally identified during a comprehensive inspection at this practice on 8 November 2017 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions.

At a comprehensive inspection we always ask the following five questions to get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment:

  • Is it safe?
  • Is it effective?
  • Is it caring?
  • Is it responsive to people’s needs?
  • Is it well-led?

When one or more of the five questions is not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the areas where improvement was required.

At the previous comprehensive inspection we found the registered provider was providing safe, effective, caring and responsive care in accordance with relevant regulations. We judged the practice was not providing well-led care in accordance with Regulation 17 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Wood Street Dental Practice on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

We also reviewed the key questions of safe and effective as we had made recommendations for the provider relating to these key questions. We noted that improvements had been made.

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements to put right the shortfalls and deal with the regulatory breach we found at our inspection on 8 November 2017.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 1 December 2017

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had some systems and processes to provide safe care and treatment.

Staff were qualified for their roles and the practice completed essential recruitment checks.

Premises were clean and properly maintained.

The practice followed national guidance for cleaning and sterilising dental instruments..

Improvements were needed to ensure that staff completed training in safeguarding and knew how to report concerns. Improvements were also needed to ensure that equipment was properly maintained in line with the manufacturer’s instructions.

The practice had some arrangements in place for dealing with medical and other emergencies.

Improvements were needed to ensure that all of the equipment and medicines were available in

line with national guidelines.

Effective

No action required

Updated 1 December 2017

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with

the relevant regulations.

The dentists assessed patients’ needs and provided care and treatment in line with recognised guidance. Patients described the treatment they received as exceptional, thorough and excellent. The dentists discussed treatment with patients so they could clearly understand and give informed consent. Patients said that their treatment was explained and that any questions in relation to treatment were answered.

The practice had clear arrangements when patients needed to be referred to other dental or health care professionals. There were arrangements to follow up on urgent and non-urgent referrals.

Improvements were needed so as to ensure there were effective systems to help them monitor staff training.

Caring

No action required

Updated 1 December 2017

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with

the relevant regulations.

We received feedback about the practice from 29 patients. Patients were positive about all aspects of the service the practice provided. They told us staff were helpful, supportive and caring. They said that they were given detailed explanations about dental treatment and that questions in relation to their dental care and treatment were answered and they did not feel rushed to make decisions.

Patients commented that all staff made them feel at ease and relaxed, especially when they were anxious about visiting the dentist.

We saw that staff protected patients’ privacy and were aware of the importance of confidentiality. Patients said staff treated them with dignity and respect.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 1 December 2017

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice’s appointment system was efficient and met patients’ needs. Patients could get an appointment quickly if in pain.

Staff considered patients’ different needs and had made reasonable adjustments to the premises to support patients.

The practice took patients views seriously. They valued compliments from patients and responded to concerns and complaints quickly and constructively.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 27 April 2018

The provider had made improvements to the management of the service.

The risk assessment and management systems had been strengthened and staff were aware of their individual and collective roles and responsibilities. There were clearly defined management structures in place and staff were aware of these.

The practice had effective systems in place to monitor clinical areas of their work to help them improve and learn.

The practice policies and procedures had been reviewed and updated where needed so that they were practice specific and reflected current national guidelines. There were arrangements to regularly review the policies and procedures and to ensure that staff understood and adhered to these.

There were arrangements for staff appraisal and for monitoring staff training.