You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 2 March 2020

We undertook a follow up focused inspection of West Norwood Dental Surgery on 8 January 2020. This inspection was carried out to review in detail the actions taken by the registered provider to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the practice was now meeting legal requirements.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who was supported by a specialist dental adviser.

We undertook a comprehensive inspection of West Norwood Dental Surgery on 30 October 2019 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We found the registered provider was not providing safe or well led care and was in breach of regulation of 12 -Safe care and treatment and Regulation 17 - Good governance under the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for West Norwood Dental Surgery on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

As part of this inspection we asked:

• Is it safe?

• Is it well-led?

When one or more of the five questions are not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the area where improvement was required.

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements in relation to the regulatory breaches we found at our inspection on 30 October 2019.

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements in relation to the regulatory breaches we found at our inspection on 30 October 2019.

Background

West Norwood Dental Surgery is in West Norwood and provides NHS and private treatment to adults and children.

Car parking spaces, including some for blue badge holders, are available near the practice.

The dental team includes a dentist and a trainee dental nurse. The practice has one treatment room and decontamination area.

The practice is owned by an individual who is the principal dentist there. They have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the practice is run.

During the inspection we spoke both with the dentist and the trainee dental nurse. We looked at practice policies and procedures and other records about how the service is managed.

Our key findings were:

  • The practice had recruited a new trainee dental nurse and had details of the training course the trainee nurse was attending

  • The practice had serviced pressure valves and other equipment used

  • The practice had undertaken an electrical condition report and Gas safety check.

  • The practice had purchased new firefighting equipment

  • There were appropriate medicines to deal with medical emergencies

  • The dentist had made the decision to stop carrying out domiciliary care services.

  • The ripped floor lining in the treatment room had been repaired and new carpet had been ordered for the reception area

  • The practice had carried out radiography and infection control audits.

  • The practice had a complaints policy and complaints leaflet that advised patients how to make complaints

  • The practice had undertaken a sharps risk assessment

There were areas where the provider could make improvements. They should:

  • Review the practice protocols regarding audits for prescribing of antibiotic medicines taking into account the guidance provided by the Faculty of General Dental Practice.

  • Review the practice protocols regarding auditing patient dental care records to check that necessary information is recorded.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 2 March 2020

Effective

No action required

Updated 20 December 2019


Caring

No action required

Updated 20 December 2019


Responsive

No action required

Updated 20 December 2019


Well-led

No action required

Updated 2 March 2020