You are here

Trafford Housing Trust Limited Good Also known as TrustCare

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 6 November 2018

This inspection took place on 14, 15, 16 and 22 August and was announced.

We last inspected Trafford Housing Trust (TrustCare) in May 2017 when we rated the service requires improvement overall and identified two breaches of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014, which were in relation to recruitment practices and good governance. We found that the provider had made improvements and was now meeting the requirements of these regulations. We have made two recommendations in this report, which relate to complaints and risk assessments.

This service is a domiciliary care agency and also provides care and support to people living in specialist ‘extra care’ housing. The service provides personal care to people living in their own houses and flats in the community or within the extra care schemes. Extra care housing is purpose-built or adapted single household accommodation in a shared site or building. The accommodation is bought or rented, and is the occupant’s own home. People’s care and housing are provided under separate contractual agreements. CQC does not regulate premises used for extra care housing; this inspection looked at people’s personal care and support service.

At the time of our inspection, the service was providing regulated care and support to a total of 129 people. This included 63 people who received support in their own homes in the community and 66 people living in four extra care schemes in the Trafford area. The four extra care schemes were named Elkin Court, Limelight, Newhaven and Fiona Gardens. The service primarily supports older people.

The service had approximately doubled in size since our last inspection. This followed the service starting to provide support to people living in the four extra care schemes. TrustCare took over as the lead care provider in the Newhaven, Elkin Court and Fiona Gardens extra care schemes on 01 February 2018. The Limelight extra care scheme was a new scheme that opened in October 2017.

Not everyone using TrustCare received support with a regulated activity. CQC only inspects the service being received by people provided with ‘personal care’, which includes tasks related to personal hygiene and eating. Where people do receive this support, we also take into account any wider social care provided.

Although the majority of people we spoke with were happy with the care they received, we found people’s experiences differed both within and across TrustCare’s services. The experiences reported by people living in the Fiona Gardens extra care scheme, and in particular, the Limelight extra care scheme, were the most significantly contrasting. At these extra care schemes, we received both positive and negative reports in relation to a range of areas affecting people’s care, including the consistency of care, handling of complaints and how approachable staff were.

The provider had strengthened the recruitment procedures, and we saw relevant checks were undertaken to help ensure staff were of suitable character before an offer of employment was made. Staff received a thorough induction, ongoing training and spot-checks of their practice to help assure the registered manager that they were able to undertake their role competently.

People received support from consistent teams of staff. The provider had made and kept to a commitment to not use agency staff to help improve people’s consistency of care. They undertook a range of activities to help try and improve staff retention and therefore the consistency of care people experienced. People told us that the provider had respected any preferences they had in relation to the staff who worked with them.

People were consistently positive about the kind, caring and respectful nature of care staff. People told us staff respected their privacy and supported them to retain as much independence as they could. The provider had systems in place to help ensure confidential information was kept

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 6 November 2018

The service was safe.

Staff identified and reported potential safeguarding concerns. The registered manager reported safeguarding concerns to the local authority as required, and took any other actions needed to help ensure people were safe.

The service had systems in place to ensure they employed sufficient numbers of staff to deliver people�s planned care. Any missed calls were investigated and lessons learned.

Staff took actions to help reduce the risk of people experiencing harm. However, these actions were not always clearly recorded in people�s risk assessments and care plans.

Effective

Good

Updated 6 November 2018

The service was effective.

The service was effective.

Staff received a thorough induction and training that allowed them to meet people�s assessed needs. Staff member�s competence to carry out a range of care tasks was assessed.

People�s needs were assessed. Staff worked closely with other health and social care professionals to help provide positive outcomes for people.

Staff understood how to apply the principles of the Mental Capacity Act in their day to day practice.

Caring

Good

Updated 6 November 2018

The service was caring.

We received consistently positive reports about the caring and thoughtful nature of staff. People were supported by consistent teams of staff.

All staff we received feedback from told us they would be happy for a friend or loved one to receive care from TrustCare.

Staff supported people to retain as much independence as they could. People told us their privacy and dignity was respected.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 6 November 2018

The service was not consistently responsive.

Some people told us they would not feel confident raising complaints. One person�s complaint had not been identified as such, and had therefore not received a formal response.

Staff had detailed knowledge about people�s needs and preferences. However, this detail was not always reflected in people�s care plans.

We received positive examples of how the service worked flexibly to meet people�s needs. However, some people living in the extra care schemes told us their care calls were often not at their preferred times.

Well-led

Good

Updated 6 November 2018

The service was well-led.

The registered manager had introduced a range of systems to help them monitor the quality and safety of the service.

Staff told us they felt supported and that the provider would treat them fairly in relation to any genuine mistakes they could make.

We received positive feedback from staff and other social care professionals in relation to the registered manager�s leadership and their commitment to the service.