You are here

Archived: Allied Healthcare Penzance Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 23 October 2018

We carried out this inspection on 28 September 2018. The inspection was announced a few days in advance in accordance with the Care Quality Commission’s current procedures for inspecting domiciliary care services. At the last inspection, in May 2016, the service was rated Good. At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

Allied Healthcare is a community service that provides care and support to adults of all ages, in their own homes. The service provides help with people’s personal care needs in Helston and surrounding areas. This includes people with physical disabilities and dementia care needs. The service mainly provides personal care for people in short visits at key times of the day to help people get up in the morning, go to bed at night and give support with meals. At the time of our inspection 71 people were receiving a personal care service. These services were funded either privately, through Cornwall Council or NHS funding.

People we spoke with told us they felt safe using the service and told us, “We tend to have the same carers,” “They are lovely girls. I feel quite safe with them they do my shopping and I am happy with it” and “Very good, we have had them (staff) a long time and would not change them for the world.”

Staff had received training in how to recognise and report abuse. Staff were clear about how to report any concerns and were confident that any allegations made would be fully investigated to help ensure people were protected. There were sufficient numbers of suitably qualified staff to meet the needs of people who used the service. The service was flexible and responded to people’s changing needs.

Care plans provided staff with direction and guidance about how to meet people’s individual needs and wishes. These care plans were regularly reviewed and any changes in people’s needs were communicated to staff. Assessments were carried out to identify any risks to the person using the service and to the staff supporting them. This included any environmental risks in people’s homes and any risks in relation to the care and support needs of the person.

People received care from staff who knew them well, and had the knowledge and skills to meet their needs. People and their relatives spoke well of staff, comments included, “I do not know what I would do without them, they (staff) are wonderful people” and “They (staff) are very kind and there is never any rush.”

Staff were knowledgeable about the people they cared for and knew how to recognise if people’s needs changed. Staff were aware of people’s preferences and interests, as well as their health and support needs, which enabled them to provide a personalised service. Staff were kind and compassionate and treated people with dignity and respect.

The management had an understanding of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and knew how to make sure people who did not have the mental capacity to make decisions for themselves had their legal rights protected. However, there were some consent forms which had been signed by family members who did not have the legal power to do this. We have made a recommendation about this in the report.

The service had robust recruitment practices, which meant staff employed were suitable to work with vulnerable people. Training records showed staff had been provided with all the necessary training which had been refreshed regularly. Staff told us they found the training to be beneficial to their role.

Staff told us they enjoyed their work and received regular supervision, appraisals and training. Staff were complimentary about the management team and how they were supported to carry out their work. The management team were also clearly committed to providing a good service for people. Staff told us there was good communication with the management of the service. Staff told us, “The office are very good at letting us know of any changes” and “You can always get support when you need it.”

There were effectiv

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 23 October 2018

The service remains Good

Effective

Good

Updated 23 October 2018

The service remains Good

Caring

Good

Updated 23 October 2018

The service remains Good

Responsive

Good

Updated 23 October 2018

The service remains Good

Well-led

Good

Updated 23 October 2018

The service remains Good