You are here

Clifton Gardens Resource Centre Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 7 April 2018

We undertook an unannounced inspection of Clifton Gardens Resource Centre on 22 February 2018.

Clifton Gardens Resource Centre is a care home and is run by the London Borough of Hounslow. It provides accommodation for up to 43 older people in single rooms. The majority of people at Clifton Gardens Resource Centre are older people living with dementia. The home is situated within a residential area of the London Borough of Hounslow. At the time of our visit there were 29 people using the service with one person in hospital.

We previously inspected Clifton Gardens Resource Centre on 1 and 2 June 2017 and rated it Requires Improvement. We identified breaches of regulations in relation to safe care and treatment (Regulation 12) and good governance (Regulation 17). We carried out a focused inspection on 7 and 8 September 2017 following a large number of notifications of incidents and accidents being submitted by the provider during July and August 2017. During this inspection we looked at the key questions of Safe and Well-led. We found repeated breaches of Regulation 12 and Regulation 17. The overall rating for the location remained as Requires Improvement. We issued two warning notices in respect of these repeated breaches telling the provider to make improvements by 15 December 2017.

A registered manager was in post at the time of the inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

The provider had made improvements in the recording of incidents and accidents. There were records of any actions taken and any changes to the person’s support needs to ensure the care being provided met those needs.

Most of the staff interactions with people were positive and showed staff respected people. Staff praised the positive atmosphere in the home. There were a few instances where staff did not demonstrate they showed respect to people.

People told us they felt safe when receiving care. Medicines were managed safely and risk management plans were in place providing guidance for care workers on how to minimise risks for people using the service.

The provider had a robust recruitment process in place and there were enough care workers on duty to provide support. Care workers received the training and supervision they required to provide them with the knowledge and skills to provide care in a safe and effective way.

Assessment of peoples support needs were carried out before the person moved into the home. People were supported to eat healthy meals that met their dietary, cultural and religious needs.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible and the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

The care plans identified the person’s wishes as to how their care was provided and were up to date. A range of activities were organised and we saw people enjoyed taking part in these.

Improvements had been made to the quality monitoring system including audits. All staff we spoke with told us that the senior management team was approachable and supportive.

Further information is in the detailed findings in the main body of the report.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 7 April 2018

The service was safe.

The provider had made improvements in the monitoring and recording of incidents and accidents to help prevent reoccurrence. Where risks were identified as part of the delivery of care, plans were in place to mitigate these.

People told us they felt safe when receiving care. Medicines were managed safely and risk management plans were in place providing guidance for care workers on how to minimise risks for people using the service.

Effective

Good

Updated 7 April 2018

The service was effective.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible and the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

Care workers received the training and supervision they required to provide them with the knowledge and skills to provide care in a safe and effective way.

Assessment of peoples support needs were carried out before the person moved into the home.

People were supported to eat healthy meals that met their dietary, cultural and religious needs. They were also supported with their healthcare needs as required.

Caring

Requires improvement

Updated 7 April 2018

The service was not always caring.

Most of the staff interactions with people were positive and showed staff respected people. There were a few instances when this not happen.

Staff praised the positive atmosphere in the home.

People were supported with their cultural and spiritual needs.

Responsive

Good

Updated 7 April 2018

The service was responsive.

The care plans identified the person�s wishes as to how their care was provided and were up to date.

A range of activities were organised and we saw people enjoyed taking part in these.

The provider had a complaints process and people were aware of how to raise concerns.

Well-led

Good

Updated 7 April 2018

The service is well-led.

The provider has made improvements to the quality monitoring systems including audits to ensure any areas for improvements were promptly identified and addressed.

All staff we spoke with told us that the senior management was approachable and supportive.