You are here

Stock Hill Dental Care Partnership

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 14 March 2019

We undertook a follow up focused inspection of Stock Hill Dental Care Partnership

on 19 February 2019.

This inspection was carried out to review in detail the actions taken by the registered provider to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the practice was now meeting legal requirements.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector.

We had undertaken a comprehensive inspection of Stock Hill Dental Care Partnership

On the 7 August 2018 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We found the registered provider was not providing well led care in accordance with the relevant regulations of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Stock Hill Dental Care Partnership on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

When one or more of the five questions are not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the area where improvement was required.

As part of this inspection we asked:

• Is it well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements in relation to the regulatory breaches we found at our inspection of 7 August 2018.

Background

Stock Hill Dental Care Partnership is based in the London Borough of Bromley and provides NHS and private treatment to patients of all ages. The practice is located on the ground floor of the premises. The practice is accessed by a short flight of stairs. There is parking available for patients and staff on site.

The dental team includes a practice manager, three dentists, a dental hygienist, two qualified dental nurses, and a receptionist. The practice has three treatment rooms.

The practice is owned by a partnership and as a condition of registration must have a person registered with the Care Quality Commission as the registered manager. Registered managers have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008

and associated regulations about how the practice is run. The registered manager at Stock Hill Dental Care Partnership was the principal dentist.

Our key findings were:

The practice had arrangements to ensure the smooth running of the service.

At the previous inspection we had found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations but told them there were things they should do. We found that the provider had taken action to address the issues we said they should look at.

We found that:

• The practice had protocols in place for completion of dental care records taking into account guidance provided by the Faculty of General Dental Practice regarding clinical examinations and record keeping.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 14 March 2019

Effective

No action required

Updated 14 March 2019

Caring

No action required

Updated 14 March 2019

Responsive

No action required

Updated 14 March 2019

Well-led

No action required

Updated 14 March 2019

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with

the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements to the management of the service.

The practice had arrangements to ensure the smooth running of the service. These included systems to assess, monitor and discuss the quality and safety of the care and treatment provided.

The practice team kept complete patient dental care records which were clearly typed and stored securely.