You are here

Mediline Supported Living Averill Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 12 December 2018

This inspection took place on 15 November 2018. We gave the provider 24 hours' notice that we would be visiting to ensure someone would be at the service.

Mediline Supported Living Averill is a 'care home'. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Mediline Supported Living Averill provides care and support for up to three adults with a learning disability.

The house is a purpose-built bungalow within a residential area of Newton Heath, Manchester. Accommodation comprises of three single occupancy bedrooms and spacious communal areas including a lounge, kitchen and bathrooms. At the time of our inspection the house was fully occupied.

At our last inspection in March 2016 we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

Why the service is rated good.

The care service has been developed and designed in line with the values that underpin the Registering the Right Support and other best practice guidance. These values include choice, promotion of independence and inclusion. People with learning disabilities and autism using the service can live as ordinary a life as any citizen.

There was a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. The registered manager also had oversight of another residential care home operated by the provider.

There were flexible staffing levels to meet the daily needs of people living at the service. Staff supported people in line with their personalised care records to manage individual risks and care needs. The management team had a robust overview of the staff teams training, supervision and appraisal needs.

Staff were aware of the importance of respecting people's choices. They constantly consulted people and supported them to make choices and worked within the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA). However, we found the best interests process had not been followed to ensure it as appropriate for one person to receive their medicines covertly.

Risks to people were assessed and action was taken to minimise any avoidable harm. Medicines were managed safely and administered as prescribed and staff had regular competency checks. However, we found room temperature records were not being recorded. High temperatures can increase the risk that medicines may not remain effective. The registered manager ensured recording charts were put in place once we brought this to their attention.

People were treated with dignity and respect by staff who were compassionate and caring. Staff treated people's private information confidentially. People were able to make decisions about how their care was provided, and were involved in reviews along with family members.

Staff were knowledgeable about people's individual care needs and care plans were person-centred and detailed. People participated in a wide range of activities within the service and in the community, they also enjoyed the company of others in the service.

The service was well-led. Systems were in place to assess and improve the quality of the service and complaints were responded to thoroughly. There was an open culture and learning was encouraged to drive improvement.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 12 December 2018

The service remained safe.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 12 December 2018

The service was not always effective.

People could make choices and were not restricted, however, we found the best interests process had not been followed to ensure it was appropriate for one person to receive their medicines covertly.

Staff received appropriate training and ongoing support in their role. People had access to healthcare services as required.

People had access to the food and drinks of their choice and were supported to access their meals in ways which met their needs and preferences.

Caring

Good

Updated 12 December 2018

The service remained caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 12 December 2018

The service remained responsive.

Well-led

Good

Updated 12 December 2018

The service remained well-led.