You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 20 March 2018

We inspected this service on 27 February 2018. The Willows is a care home. People in care homes receive accommodation and personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The Willows is registered to accommodate 28 people in one building. At the time of our inspection 21 people were using the service, some of whom are living with dementia. The Willows accommodates people in one building and support is provided on two floors. There are two communal lounges, a dining area and a garden that people can access.

At our last inspection on 1 March 2016 we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and on-going monitoring that demonstrated risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

People continued to receive safe care. People were safe and individual risks to people were considered and reviewed when needed. There were safeguarding procedures in place and when needed these were followed to ensure people were protected from potential harm. There were enough staff available to offer support to people and medicines were managed in a safe way. Infection control procedures were in place and followed. There were systems in place to ensure lessons were learnt when things went wrong.

People continued to receive effective care. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff support them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice. People enjoyed the food that was available and were offered a choice. Staff were supported and trained to ensure that they had the skills to support people effectively, in line with current best practice. When needed people received support from health professionals. The home was adapted and decorated to meet people’s individual needs.

People continued to be supported in a caring way. People were supported in a kind and caring way by staff they were happy with. People’s privacy and dignity was promoted and people continued to be offered choices.

People continued to receive responsive care. People received care that was responsive to their needs and preferences. People had the opportunity to participate in activities they enjoyed. Complaint procedures were in place and followed when needed.

The service remained well led. Quality assurance systems were in place to identify where improvements could be made and when needed these changes were made. There was a registered manager in place who notified us of significant events that occurred within the home. Feedback was sought from people and their relatives and this was used to bring about changes.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 20 March 2018

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 20 March 2018

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 20 March 2018

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 20 March 2018

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 20 March 2018

The service remains good.