You are here

Alpha Dental Studio Catterick

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 2 August 2016

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection on 19 July 2016 to ask the practice the following key questions; Are services safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services effective?

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services caring?

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services responsive?

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services well-led?

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Background

Alpha Dental Studio Catterick, North Yorkshire is part of the Alpha Dental group. It is a NHS and private dental practice which offers private dental payment plans. The practice offers dental treatments including dental implants, endodontics, cosmetic dental treatment, orthodontic clear braces and conscious sedation.

The practice has five surgeries, two on the ground floor and three on the first floor, a decontamination room, two waiting areas, a reception area and patient toilets. There are staff facilities on the second floor of the premises.

There are seven dentists (one of which is a foundation training dentist), one dental hygiene therapist, five dental nurses (one of which is a trainee) a practice manager and an operations manager.

The opening hours are:

Monday – Friday 08:30 – 17:30 and open until 20:00 on a Wednesday by appointment only.

The operations manager is the registered manager. A registered manager is a person who is registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the practice is run.

On the day of inspection we received 18 CQC comment cards providing feedback and spoke with six patients. The patients who provided feedback were very positive about the care and attention to treatment they received at the practice. They told us they were involved in all aspects of their care and found the staff to be welcoming, patient, friendly and caring. Patients commented they could access emergency care easily and they were treated with dignity and respect in a clean and tidy environment.

Our key findings were:

  • Staff had received safeguarding training, knew how to recognise signs of abuse and how to report it. They had very good systems in place to work closely and share information with the local safeguarding team.
  • There were sufficient numbers of suitably qualified staff to meet the needs of patients.
  • Staff had been trained to manage medical emergencies.
  • Patient care and treatment was planned and delivered in line with evidence based guidelines, best practice and current regulations.
  • Patients received clear explanations about their proposed treatment, costs, benefits and risks and were involved in making decisions about it.
  • Patients were treated with dignity and respect and confidentiality was maintained.
  • There was a complaints system in place. Staff recorded complaints and cascaded learning to staff.
  • The governance systems were effective.
  • The practice sought feedback from staff and patients about the services. There was a clear leadership structure and staff felt supported by management. The practice proactively sought feedback from staff and patients.

There were areas where the provider could make improvements and should:

  • Review the practice’s sharps procedures giving due regard to the Health and Safety (Sharp Instruments in Healthcare) Regulations 2013.
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 2 August 2016

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had effective systems and processes in place to ensure that all care and treatment was carried out safely. For example, there were systems in place for infection prevention and control, clinical waste control, dental radiography and management of medical emergencies. All emergency equipment and medicines were in date and in accordance with the British National Formulary (BNF) and Resuscitation Council UK guidelines.

Staff had received training in safeguarding patients and knew how to recognise the signs of abuse and who to report them to including external agencies such as the local authority safeguarding team.

Staff were appropriately recruited and suitably trained and skilled to meet patients’ needs and there were sufficient numbers of staff available at all times. Staff induction processes were in place and had been completed by all staff. We reviewed the newest member of staff’s induction file and evidence was available to support the policy and process.

We reviewed the legionella risk assessment dated January 2016. There was evidence of regular water testing and noted that the dental unit water lines were being managed appropriately.

Effective

No action required

Updated 2 August 2016

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Consultations were carried out in line with best practice guidance from the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE). For example, patients were recalled after an agreed interval for an oral health review, during which their medical histories and examinations were updated and recorded. Any changes in risk factors were also discussed and recorded.

The practice followed best practice guidelines when delivering dental care. These included guidance from the Faculty of General Dental Practice (FGDP), British Society of Periodontology (BSP) and NICE. The practice focused strongly on prevention. The staff were aware of the ‘Delivering Better Oral Health’ toolkit (DBOH) with regards to diet and oral hygiene advice.

Patients dental care records provided contemporaneous detailed information about their current dental needs and past treatment. The dental care records we looked at included discussions about treatment options and relevant X-rays. The records we checked included a grade and a justification for taking an X-ray. The practice monitored any changes to the patients oral health and made referrals for specialist treatment or investigations where indicated in a timely manner.

Staff were registered with the General Dental Council (GDC) and maintained their registration by completing the required number of hours of continuing professional development (CPD). Staff were supported to meet the requirements of their professional registration.

Caring

No action required

Updated 2 August 2016

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with

the relevant regulations.

Staff explained that enough time was allocated in order to ensure the treatment and care was fully explained to patients in a way which they understood. Time was given to patients with complex treatment needs to decide what treatment options they preferred and letters with advice were sent to the patients to ensure they had ample time to make an informed decision.

Comments on the 18 completed CQC comment cards we received included statements reporting they were involved in all aspects of their care and found the staff to be polite, helpful, caring, and professional and they were treated with dignity and respect.

We observed patients being treated with respect and dignity during interactions at the reception desk and over the telephone. Privacy and confidentiality were maintained for patients using the service on the day of the inspection. We also observed the staff to be welcoming and caring towards the patients.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 2 August 2016

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Patients could access routine treatment and urgent care when required. The practice offered daily access for patients experiencing dental pain which enabled them to receive treatment quickly.

The practice was fully accessible to all patients and reasonable adjustments had been made to the practice where possible. The practice had step free access at the front of the building for wheelchair users and pushchairs.

The practice had a complaints process which was accessible to patients who wished to make a complaint. The practice manager recorded complaints and cascaded learning to staff. The practice also had patients’ advice leaflets and practice information leaflets available on reception.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 2 August 2016

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

There was a clearly defined management structure in place and all staff felt supported and appreciated in their own particular roles. The registered manager and practice manager were responsible for the day to day running of the practice.

The practice held six weekly staff meetings which were minuted and gave everybody an opportunity to openly share information and discuss any concerns or issues which had not already been addressed during their daily interactions.

The practice undertook various audits to monitor their performance and help improve the services offered. The audits included infection prevention and control and X-rays. The X-ray audit findings were in line with the guidelines of the National Radiological Protection Board (NRPB).

The practice conducted patient satisfaction surveys and they were currently undertaking the NHS Friends and Family Test (FFT) for the patients who used the service.