You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 25 November 2017

We inspected the Hollands on 18 and 22 September 2017. On the18 September 2017 the inspection was facilitated by the senior nurse and senior carer on duty, the manager was on annual leave. We returned on the 22 September 2017 to complete the inspection with the manager.

We last inspected the Hollands on 04 August 2015 and the overall rating for the service was good.

The Hollands is a detached two-storey purpose built home situated in the centre of Farnworth, Bolton, close to shops, local amenities and public transport. It has a car park to the front of the home.

The Hollands is registered to care for 39 people, predominately under 65 years of age. The Hollands provides services to people who require nursing and personal care, physical and learning disabilities and mental health problems. The service provides specialist care in alcohol and drug dependence, bipolar and manic depression, epilepsy head and brain injury and schizophrenia. There were 32 people using the service at the time of the inspection.

The home had a manager in post who was in the process of registering with the Care Quality Commission (CQC). The manager was an experienced manager who had previously been registered with the CQC. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We found that privacy and dignity of people who used the service maintained. Staff treated people with respect and staff interaction with people was good.

We found there were enough staff on duty to meet people’s needs. Staffing levels were based on an accurate and current assessment of people’s needs. The manager was currently reviewing the dependency needs of people who used the service.

We found records necessary for the management of the home were in place and completed accurately.

People were provided with sufficient food and drink to ensure their health care needs were met.

We saw that new staff completed an induction programme to help ensure staff were prepared for their role by assisting them to develop their knowledge, skills and understanding.

We found that that home worked well with other healthcare professionals when required.

We found that suitable arrangements were in place to help safeguard people from abuse. Staff knew what to do if an allegation of abuse was made to them or if they suspected that abuse had occurred.

Recruitment procedures were robust and appropriate checks had been completed.

The medication system was safe and we saw how the staff worked in cooperation with other healthcare professionals to ensure that people received appropriate care and treatment.

People's care records contained enough information to guide staff on the care and support required. The records showed that risks to people's health and well-being had been identified and plans were in place to help reduce or eliminate the risk.

Staff were able to demonstrate their understanding of the principles of the Mental Capacity Act (MCA) 2005 and the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS); these provide legal safeguards for people who may be unable to make their own decisions.

Records we looked at showed there was a system in place for recording complaints and any action taken to remedy the concerns raised. Records showed that any accidents and incidents that occurred were recorded.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 25 November 2017

Staffing levels were sufficient to meet the needs of the people who used the service. There was a robust recruitment system which helped ensure that people were suitable to work with vulnerable people.

People were given their medicines safely and as prescribed.

Staff had been trained in safeguarding topics and were aware of their responsibilities to report any possible abuse.

Effective

Good

Updated 25 November 2017

The service was effective

There was a thorough induction programme and training was on-going for all staff. Staff supervisions and appraisals took place regularly.

People were provided with sufficient food and drink to ensure their health care needs were met.

Staff were able to demonstrate their understanding of the principles of the Mental Capacity Act (MCA) 2005 and the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS).

Caring

Good

Updated 25 November 2017

The service was caring

We observed that interactions between staff and people who used the service were friendly and respectful.

People were treated with respect, privacy and dignity.

We found that the service worked with other healthcare professionals to ensure appropriate care, treatment and support was available as required.

Responsive

Good

Updated 25 November 2017

The service was responsive

The care files included a range of health and personal information. People�s preferences, likes and dislikes were clearly documented and people told us these were respected.

There was a complaints procedure which people and their relatives were aware of. However there were few formal complaints made. We saw a number of compliments which had been received by the service.

A range of activities was available and trips out of the home were arranged.

Well-led

Good

Updated 25 November 2017

The service was well led

The manager was in the process of registering with the CQC. The manager had previously been registered with the CQC.

Staff spoken told us the manager was supportive and approachable There was an �open door� policy at the home.

We saw minutes of staff and residents meetings, which were held on a regular basis. There were systems in place to monitor and assess the quality of the service and the care provided.