You are here

Okeley Care Home Requires improvement

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 17 December 2020

About the service

Okeley care home is a residential care home providing personal and nursing care to up to 84 people aged 65 and over. At the time of the inspection there were 74 people living at the service, the majority of them were living with dementia.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

When we last visited the service in February 2019, we met a new registered manager who told us about the improvements they were making. However, when we returned in November 2020, the previous registered manager had left, and we were welcomed by another new manager who was in the process of becoming registered with the Commission.

Although the registered manager had made positive changes since their arrival, these improvements need to be sustained to demonstrate management stability across the service. The feedback we received during our inspection combined a positive view of the new manager, with an anxiety that they would leave.

The manager had started to address the concerns we had raised at our last inspection. They had a practical, person-centred approach which was making a difference to the care people received. Feedback was particularly positive about how well and openly the registered manager was communicating with people, families and staff.

We found care was well-planned and staff minimised risks to people’s safety. The administration of medicines had improved. Risk from the spread of infection was well managed.

There were enough staff to keep people safe. The manager was working well with the staff team to improve staff turnover, morale and skills.

People were supported to have choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible and in their best interests. The manager promoted a person-centred approach to managing restrictions resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic. They communicated well with people and families to explain restrictions.

Senior staff carried out regular checks on the quality of care and took action which directly improved care standards.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC at www.cqc.org.uk.

Rating at last inspection (and update)

The last rating for this service was requires improvement (published 8 April 2019). The service remains rated requires improvement. This service has been rated requires improvement.

The provider completed an action plan after the last inspection to show what they would do and by when to improve. We also met with the provider and the former registered manager to discuss their action plan. At this inspection we found improvements had been made and the provider was no longer in breach of regulations.

Why we inspected

We received concerns that the provider did not have effective systems in place to keep people safe. We also had concerns about the high turnover of registered managers within the provider’s services. As a result, we undertook a focused inspection to review the key questions of safe and well-led only.

We reviewed the information we held about the service. No areas of concern were identified in the other key questions. We therefore did not inspect them. Ratings from previous comprehensive inspections for those key questions were used in calculating the overall rating at this inspection.

We looked at infection prevention and control measures under the Safe key question. We look at this in all care home inspections even if no concerns or risks have been identified. This is to provide assurance that the service can respond to coronavirus and other infection outbreaks effectively.

We considered how well the provider had responded to the concerns and breaches found at the previous inspection. The overall rating for the service remains requires improvement. This is based on the findings at this inspection.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Okeley Care Centre on our website at www.cqc.org.u

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 17 December 2020

The service was safe

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 17 December 2020

Caring

Requires improvement

Updated 17 December 2020

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 17 December 2020

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 17 December 2020

The service was not consistently well led