You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 18 April 2018

We carried out this focused inspection of Oak Tree Dental Practice to follow up concerns we originally identified during a comprehensive inspection at the practice on 28 September 2016 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions.

At a comprehensive inspection we always ask the following five questions to get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment:

  • Is it safe?
  • Is it effective?
  • Is it caring?
  • Is it responsive to people’s needs?
  • Is it well-led?

When one or more of the five questions is not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the areas where improvement was required.

At the previous comprehensive inspection, we found the registered provider was providing safe, effective, caring and responsive care in accordance with relevant regulations. We judged the practice was not providing well-led care in accordance with Regulation 17 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Oak Tree Dental Practice on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was carried out on 27 February 2018 by a review of documents and other evidence sent to us from the provider as requested at our previous inspection.

We also reviewed the key questions of safe and effective as we had made recommendations for the provider relating to these key questions. We noted that some improvements had been made.

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made adequate improvement to put right the shortfalls and deal with the regulatory breach we found at our inspection on 28 September 2016. The provider must ensure that the newly implemented improvements are embedded and sustained long-term in the practice.

There were areas where the provider could make improvements and should:

  • Review the practice’s sharps procedures and ensure the practice is in compliance with the Health and Safety (Sharp Instruments in Healthcare) Regulations 2013.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 18 April 2018

Effective

No action required

Updated 18 April 2018

Caring

No action required

Updated 18 April 2018

Responsive

No action required

Updated 18 April 2018

Well-led

No action required

Updated 18 April 2018

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulation.

The provider had made improvements to the management of the service. This included implementing a system for recording and learning from accidents and incidents, ensuring staff received CPR training and monitoring emergency medical equipment and medicines in line with resuscitation council guidelines. Fire safety equipment was serviced, maintained and monitored on a regular basis; fire marshal training has been completed by a member of staff in line with the requirements of the practice’s fire risk assessment. Infection control issues identified have been addressed; quarterly foil tests were completed for the ultrasonic cleaner and drawer handles in the decontamination room have been replaced. The practice were using a pre-employment checklist and a pre-employment medical questionnaire is being completed by staff upon employment at the practice.

The provider had failed to address a minor issue we had raised in our previous report; the provider must ensure action is taken to address all outstanding issues.