You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 4 February 2016

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection on 5 November 2015 to ask the practice the following key questions; Are services safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services effective?

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations

Are services caring?

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services responsive?

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services well-led?

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Background

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection on 5 November 2015 at Cannock Dental Practice.

Dental services have been provided from the location for a number of years, the current provider has provided services at the practice for around six years.

The practice is situated in Cannock town centre with car parking nearby. Access to the practice is by stairs as it is situated on a first floor level above commercial premises.

The practice provides dental care and treatment to registered patients Monday to Friday 9am to 1pm and 2pm to 5:30pm. At the time of the inspection the practice had around 3,500 patients with an approximate funding basis of 60% NHS and 40% private.

The practice has three dentists (principal, associate and foundation) working a variety of clinical sessions over a week. A dental hygienist and five qualified dental nurses complete the clinical team. The practice manager is a qualified dental nurse who splits their time between this and another practice. A receptionist and cleaner assist in maintaining the day to day running of the practice.

The principal dentist is the registered provider. A registered provider is registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Registered providers have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the practice is run.

Fifty patients provided feedback about the practice. All the feedback we received from patients was positive, including access to appointments, their care and treatment and all made complimentary remarks about their overall experience of the practice.

Our key findings were:

  • Patients told us that their care and treatment was explained and they felt involved in decisions about their treatment.
  • The appointments system met the needs of patients.
  • Patients received clear explanations and written information about their proposed treatment, costs, benefits and risks and were involved in making decisions about them.
  • The practice sought feedback from staff and patients about the services they provided.
  • The practice managed risks well.
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 4 February 2016

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had a policy for recording significant events and had an open culture for reporting, investigating and acting on incidents.

Staff knew their individual responsibilities for safeguarding children and vulnerable adults, and had received recognised training in safeguarding children and vulnerable adults.

Infection prevention and control procedures were in place and staff were knowledgeable on good working practice. The practice had trained staff, and had emergency equipment, medicines and procedures in place for emergencies such as fire and sudden illness.

Risks from X-ray and other equipment were mitigated by operating procedures and regular servicing and maintenance of equipment.

Effective

No action required

Updated 4 February 2016

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Patients received a full assessment of their oral health needs including the taking of a full medical history at each consultation. Records showed that treatments had been relevant to the symptoms or findings, treatment options were explained and timely follow up appointments had been arranged.

Patients who used the practice had been given clear information on their treatment. We saw that information to support patients to understand proposed treatments and actions had been explained and recorded.

Staff were supported through training, appraisals and continuous professional development. Patients were referred to other services in a timely manner.

Caring

No action required

Updated 4 February 2016

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with

the relevant regulations.

Patients were treated with kindness, dignity, respect and compassion whilst under the care of the practice. Patients who used the practice had been given clear information on their treatment including cost. Issues of urgent dental need and those in pain were responded to in a timely manner.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 4 February 2016

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Services were planned and delivered to meet the needs of patients. Patients said they had good access to appointments at times convenient to them. Facilities within the practice were sufficient and well maintained. The practice sought the views of patients continuously.

The practice operated a publicised complaints system and responded appropriately if complaints were raised.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 4 February 2016

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Governance was well managed and staff understood their own responsibilities in this area.

The practice had a leadership structure and staff felt well supported by the principal dentist and practice manager. Staff met regularly and they were supported to maintain and enhance their professional development and skills. Patients had the opportunity to give feedback on their experience.