You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 27 October 2016

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection of this service on 27 May 2015 as part of our regulatory function where a breach of legal requirements was found. After the comprehensive inspection, the practice wrote to us to say what they would do to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breach.

We followed up on our inspection of 27 May 2015 to check that the practice had implemented their plan and to confirm that they now met the legal requirements. We carried out a desk based review on 28 July 2016 to check whether the practice had taken action to address a breach of Regulation 17(1) and (2) (a) of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014.

This report only covers our findings in relation to those requirements. We have not revisited Scott Arms Dental Practice for this review because the registered provider was able to demonstrate that they were meeting the standards without the need for a visit. You can read the report from our previous comprehensive inspection by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Scott Arms Dental Practice on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Key findings

  • Overall we found that sufficient action had been taken to address the shortfalls identified at our previous inspection and the provider was now compliant with the regulation.

There were areas where the provider could make improvements and should:

  • Review its own recruitment policy to establish whether the practice is in compliance when recruiting new staff members with regards to DBS checks and references.
  • Review the training, learning and development needs of individual staff members and have an effective process established for the on-going assessment and supervision of all staff. This includes regular appraisals for all staff and ensuring they are up-to-date with core CPD topics such as safeguarding children.
  • Review training records and adopt an effective process to highlight any staff members who have not completed mandatory training and ensure they do so within the recommended timeframe.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 27 October 2016

Effective

No action required

Updated 27 October 2016

Caring

No action required

Updated 27 October 2016

Responsive

No action required

Updated 27 October 2016

Well-led

No action required

Updated 27 October 2016

This desk based review concentrated on the key question of whether or not the practice was well-led. We found that the practice was now providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

At our previous inspection of the practice in May 2015 we identified that governance arrangements were not sufficiently robust. We reviewed the action taken to address issues raised during this desk based review and found that the practice was now meeting regulatory requirements.