You are here

Cabrini House 1 (Diagrama Healthcare) Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 27 November 2018

This unannounced inspection took place on 22 October 2018. At our last inspection on 7 and 8 April 2016 we rated the service Good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of Good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Cabrini 1 is one of three small separate care homes run by the provider in the same road that provides accommodation care and support to seven people with learning difficulties and some physical disability or health needs. People in care homes receive accommodation and personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. At the time of the inspection there were six people living at the home.

The service has been developed and designed in line with the values that underpin the Registering the Right Support and other best practice guidance. These values include choice, promotion of independence and inclusion. So that people with learning disabilities and autism using the service can live as ordinary a life as any citizen

The service had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. They were aware of their responsibilities' and had submitted notifications as required. They were aware of their legal requirement to display their current CQC rating which we saw was on display at the home and on the provider’s website.

At this inspection we found there were systems to monitor the quality of the service although the provider did not carry out their own separate recorded quality checks but relied on the managers own audits. The provider was in the process of reviewing their quality assurance systems at the time of the inspection.

We have made a recommendation that the provider seeks appropriate guidance on the implementation of new quality monitoring systems. We will check on the progress with this at the next inspection.

There were effective safeguarding procedures in place to protect people from the risk of abuse. Staff understood the different types of abuse and knew who to contact to report any concerns. There were processes in place to learn from accidents and incidents. Individual risks to people were assessed and detailed guidance provided to staff to reduce risk. Medicines were safely managed.

There were sufficient numbers of staff at the service. The environment had been adapted to meet people’s needs. The service was clean and staff understood how to reduce the risk of infections.

Staff received sufficient training supervision and support to fulfil their roles and responsibilities. New staff completed an induction when they started work and staff received regular training and supervision that helped them support people’s individual needs.

Prior to joining the service people's needs were carefully assessed in partnership with people, their families and health and social care professionals where relevant.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service support this practice.

People were supported to meet their dietary and nutritional needs safely and provide them with sufficient choice. The service worked with health and social care services and professionals to maintain the good health of people they supported. The service supported people when they moved between services through effective co

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 27 November 2018

The home remains rated Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 27 November 2018

The home remains rated Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 27 November 2018

The home remains rated Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 27 November 2018

The home remains rated Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 27 November 2018

The home remains rated Good.