You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 10 January 2019

This inspection took place on 13 December 2018 and was announced. The registered provider was given 48 hours’ notice because the location provides a domiciliary care service and we needed to be sure that someone would be at the office to assist with the inspection.

The service was last inspected in June 2016. At our last inspection we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

This service is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to people with physical disabilities, learning disabilities and autism who live in their own home or supported living. Not everyone using 247 Community Support receives regulated activity. CQC only inspects the service being received by people provided with ‘personal care’; help with tasks related to personal hygiene and eating. Where they do we also take into account any wider social care provided. At the time of our inspection eight people were receiving personal care from the service.

There was a registered manager in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. The registered manager was registered at this location in 2015.

People and their relatives said staff at the service kept people safe. Medicines were managed safely. Risks to people were assessed and steps taken to reduce them. Plans were in place to support people in emergency situations. The provider had policies and procedures in place to promote effective infection control measures. People were safeguarded from abuse. The provider and registered manager monitored staffing levels to ensure enough staff were deployed to provide safe support. The provider’s recruitment processes minimised the risk of unsuitable staff being employed.

People's health and social needs were assessed before they started using the service to ensure the correct support was made available to them. Staff worked closely with a range of external healthcare professionals to maintain and promote people’s health and wellbeing. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. The policies and systems in the service supported this practice. Staff were supported with regular training, supervision and appraisal. People received support to manage their food and nutrition.

People and relatives spoke positively about the staff at the service. Staff were very knowledgeable about people’s families, backgrounds, hobbies and interests and this led to interesting and fulfilling conversations that people clearly enjoyed. Staff worked to promote people’s independence and enable them to live as full and free a life as possible. Policies and procedures were in place to support people to access advocacy services.

People received person-centred support based on their assessed support needs and preferences. Staff were knowledgeable about people’s communication support needs. People were supported to source, organise and participate in a wide range of activities they enjoyed. Policies and procedures were in place to investigate and respond to complaints.

The registered manager had informed CQC of significant events in a timely way by submitting the required notifications. People, relatives and staff spoke positively about the culture and values of the service, and about the leadership provided by the registered manager. The provider and registered manager carr

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 10 January 2019

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 10 January 2019

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 10 January 2019

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 10 January 2019

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 10 January 2019

The service remains good.