You are here

Longacre Care Home Limited Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 20 November 2018

This inspection took place on 29 October 2018 and was unannounced.

Longacre Care Home Limited is a ‘care home.’ People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The home is registered to provide accommodation and nursing or personal care for up to 30 older people living with dementia, physical disabilities, and mental health needs. At the time of the inspection there were 20 people living at the home.

Longacre Care Home Limited is a detached property in a suburban area of Worthing. It has been adapted from a domestic house and has been extended. There were two passenger lifts so people can access the first floor and corridors had sloping floors rather than steps for those with mobility needs. All bedrooms were single apart from one which could be used as a double. Twenty bedrooms had an en suite toilet. People were observed using communal areas, which included two conservatories which people used for activities plus a lounge – dining room. There was a garden which people said they enjoyed using.

At our last inspection we rated the service Good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of Good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

We made a recommendation following our last inspection on 29 January and 5 February 2016 for action to be taken to ensure people had access to a range of personalised activities and to address social isolation for those who remained in their rooms. The provider had taken action to address this and we found the provision of activities for people had improved.

People and their relatives said they were satisfied with the standard of care provided. For example, one relative said, “the care is good. The staff are fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble.” Another relative said, “It’s a lovely home. No faults at all.”

The provider ensured safe care was provided to people. Risks to people were assessed and measures taken to mitigate these. The premises and equipment were safely maintained. Action was being taken to address fire safety matters as required by the fire and rescue service. Sufficient numbers of care and nursing staff were deployed to meet people’s needs. Checks were made to ensure staff were suitable to work in a care setting. Medicines were safely managed. The home was clean and hygienic. Incidents or accidents were reviewed and action taken to reduce the likelihood of any reoccurrence.

The provider and management team ensured current guidance and legislation was followed regarding people’s care and treatment. Staff were well trained and supervised. The staff felt supported and valued.

People’s nutritional needs were assessed and people were supported to eat and drink. There was a choice of food. Health care needs were monitored and referrals made to other services to ensure there was a coordinated approach to people’s care. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People were treated with kindness, respect and compassion. Care was individualised and reflected people’s preferences. People’s privacy and dignity were promoted.

People received personalised care which was responsive to their needs. Assessments, care plans and records showed attention to detail in monitoring and responding to people’s needs. The provider identified and met people’s communication needs. The provider had an effective complaints procedure and people and their relatives confirmed there was a good dialogue with the sta

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 20 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 20 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 20 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 20 November 2018

The service has improved to Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 20 November 2018

The service remains Good.