You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 10 April 2018

 

When we carried out an announced comprehensive inspection of Snowberry Lane Clinic on 5 December 2017 we identified one area where the provider was not providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

 

We said they must:

  • Ensure care and treatment is provided in a safe way to patients. For example, with regard to appropriate equipment and medicines for use in an emergency.

We also advised the service they should:

  • Put guidance in place to help staff decide which phone calls to their out-of-hours phone number should be escalated to medical staff.

  • Revise their complaints policy to ensure patients are given information on how to escalate a complaint if they are not satisfied with the service response.

Following our inspection the provider sent us an action plan setting out the action they would take to meet the relevant regulation.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 21 March 2018 to confirm that the service had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breaches in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection on 5 December 2017. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and also additional improvements made since our last inspection.

At this inspection we found that the service was meeting the regulation they had previously breached and was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

 

Our key findings were as follows:

  • The practice now had oxygen available for use in emergency and had developed protocols and systems to ensure it was kept safe and fit for use

    .

  • The service had developed a protocol giving guidance to staff who answered the out-of-hours phone on when a doctor should be contacted.

  • The practice had revised their complaints policy to include information on how to escalate a complaint.​

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 10 April 2018

Effective

Updated 10 April 2018

Caring

Updated 10 April 2018

Responsive

Updated 10 April 2018

Well-led

Updated 10 April 2018