You are here

Archived: Reigate Gentle Dental

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 3 August 2016

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection on 12 April 2016 to ask the practice the following key questions; Are services safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services effective?

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services caring?

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services responsive?

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services well-led?

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations

Background

Reigate Gentle Dental is a dental practice located alongside retail shops and businesses on Western Parade in Reigate, Surrey. There are free parking bays located along the parade for staff and patients to use. The practice comprises of five treatment rooms, a spacious waiting area, a reception area and office/staff room, decontamination room and toilet facilities with disabled access.

The practice is fairly new and started providing services from January 2015. They provide private services to adults and children and offer a range of dental services including dental hygienists, routine examinations and treatment, veneers and crowns and bridges. One of the dentists also provides implants.

The practice staffing consisted of a principal dentist (who was also the provider), two general dentists (one also provided implants), seven dental nurses (including four trainees), a receptionist and a practice manager. The dental team worked various part-time hours to accommodate flexible working depending on the need.

The practice opening hours are Monday 8am to 5pm, Tuesday 8am to 8.30pm,Wednesday 8am to 5pm, Thursday 8am to 8.30pm, Friday 8am to 5pm and Saturday 9am to 2pm.

The practice manager is the registered manager. A registered manager is a person who is registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the practice is run.

Before the inspection we sent Care Quality Commission (CQC) comments cards to the practice for patients to complete to tell us about their experience of the practice. We collected 43 completed cards. All the comments received were positive about the care that patients received from the practice. They were complimentary about the friendly and caring attitude of the dental staff .

The inspection took place over one day and was carried out by a CQC inspector and a dental specialist advisor

Our key findings were:

  • Patients’ needs were assessed and care was planned in line with current guidance such as from the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE).

  • The practice had an ongoing programme of risk assessments and audits which were used to drive improvement.
  • Patients were involved in their care and treatment planning so they could make informed decisions.
  • There were effective processes in place to reduce and minimise the risk and spread of infection.
  • The practice had effective safeguarding processes in place and staff understood their responsibilities for safeguarding adults and child protection
  • Equipment, such as the air compressor, autoclave (steriliser), fire extinguishers, and X-ray equipment had all been checked for effectiveness and had been regularly serviced.

  • Patients were treated with dignity and respect and confidentiality was maintained.
  • The practice had implemented clear procedures for managing comments, concerns or complaints.
  • Patients indicated that they found the team to be efficient, professional, caring and reassuring.
  • All clinical staff were up to date with their continuing professional development.
  • There was a comprehensive induction and training programme for staff to follow which ensured they were skilled and competent in delivering safe and effective care and support to patients.

There were areas where the provider could make improvements and should:

  • Review national guidelines for the use of safer sharps and implement protocols and risk assessments in line with guidance.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 3 August 2016

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had systems in place for identifying, investigating and learning from incidents relating to the safety of patients and staff members. There were policies and procedures in place for the management of infection control, clinical waste segregation and disposal, management of medical emergencies and dental radiography. We found the equipment used in the practice was maintained and in line with current guidelines. Dental instruments were decontaminated suitably. Medicines and equipment were available in the event of an emergency and stored safely. X-rays were taken in accordance with relevant regulations.

Effective

No action required

Updated 3 August 2016

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice provided evidence-based care in accordance with relevant, published guidance, for example, from the Faculty of General Dental Practice (FGDP), National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) Department of Health (DOH) and the General Dental Council (GDC). The practice monitored patients’ oral health and gave appropriate health promotion advice. Staff had completed continuing professional development to maintain their registration in line with requirements of the General Dental Council. Staff explained treatment options to patients to ensure they could make informed decisions about any treatment. The practice worked well with other providers and followed up on the outcomes of referrals made to other providers. We saw examples of effective collaborative team working.

Caring

No action required

Updated 3 August 2016

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Patients were complimentary of the care, treatment and professionalism of the staff and gave a positive view of the service. We observed the practice staff respecting patient’s privacy and keeping doors closed during treatments. Patient’s commented that the dentists discussed the options, risks, benefits and cost of the treatment with them in a way that they could understand.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 3 August 2016

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice provided friendly and personalised dental care. The premises had level access to the reception area and surgeries which accommodated patients using a wheelchair. Patients had good access to appointments, including emergency appointments, which were available on the same day. In the event of a dental emergency outside of normal opening hours details of how to access out-of-hours emergency treatment was available.

There were systems in place for patients to make a complaint about the service if required. Information about how to make a complaint was readily available to patients. Patients had access to information about the service. There was a practice leaflet with relevant information for patients and also a patient information noticeboard.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 3 August 2016

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The staff we spoke with described an open and transparent culture which encouraged candour. Staff we spoke with were very proud to work in the service and spoke respectfully about the leadership and support they received from the provider as well as other colleagues. They were comfortable about raising concerns with the practice manager and provider. They felt they were listened to and responded to when they did so.

The practice had suitable clinical governance and risk management structures in place. Staff told us they enjoyed working at the practice and felt part of a team. Opportunities existed for staff for their professional development. Staff we spoke with were confident in their work and felt well-supported.